Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Mount Zion Baptist Church Minute Book

A description of its minute book at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 19 November 2009

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Mount Zion Baptist Church (New York, N.Y.)
Title: Mount Zion Baptist Church Minute Book
Dates: 1843-1857
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Minute book of Mount Zion Baptist Church of New York City, covering meetings from its founding in 1843 until 1857.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Mount Zion Baptist Church was founded in New York City on 16 August 1843 by sixteen initial members, most of whom had left Bethesda Baptist Church. It was an Old-School Baptist (or Primitive Baptist) congregation. James C. Goble was asked to serve as pastor and he remained at the church from 1843 to 1850. After Goble left, the church searched unsuccessfully for a new pastor and the matter was still unresolved in 1857 when the minute book ends. A short time later, in 1858, Mount Zion merged with Ebenezer Baptist Church.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Mount Zion Baptist Church Minute Book contains records of meetings held by the church from April 1843 until December 1857. The minute book is 157 pages long and handwritten in ink. The meeting minutes describe the sometimes contentious history of the church, including details of its administrative activities, financial status, and continually changing membership. The minutes were taken by three different church clerks: Samuel Allen (1843-1846, 1851-1856), John Axford (1846-1851), and Lawrence Van Wart (1856-1857).


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Allen, Samuel.
Axford, John.
Goble, James C.
Van Wart, Lawrence.

Corporate Bodies

Mount Zion Baptist Church (New York, N.Y.)

Subjects

Baptists -- New York (State) -- New York.
Church records and registers -- New York (State) -- New York.
Primitive Baptists.

Genres and Forms

Minute books.
Minutes.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Mount Zion Baptist Church Minute Book,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Acquired, 1964.


Table of Contents

Minute Book


Inventory

Minute Book
SC 355 1843-1857