Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Lucretia Mott Correspondence

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 28 Sep 2010

Revision history:
3 Mar 2011 related materials (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Mott, Lucretia, 1793-1880.
Title: Lucretia Mott Correspondence
Dates: 1856
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Two letters from Lucretia Mott, American feminist and anti-slavery activist, to Samuel J. May, also a proponent of abolition and of women's rights.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Lucretia Mott (1792-1880) was an American feminist and anti-slavery activist. Samuel J. May was an American Unitarian minister and likewise an abolitionist and a proponent of women's rights.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Lucretia Mott Correspondence consists of two letters from Lucretia Mott to Samuel J. May. Both are dated July 1856 from Auburn, New York. Included in the folder are photocopies and typed transcriptions of both letters, and a brief chronology, undated and handwritten, of Mott's life.


Arrangement of the Collection

None.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has extensive material relating to Lucretia Mott; to her grandson, prison reformer Thomas Mott Osborne, and his family; to Samuel J. May; and to the issues of women's rights and abolition in and around Central New York. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing of related manuscript collections and to the Classic Catalog for a complete list of printed and cataloged items.

In particular, see also the Osborne Family Papers and the Samuel J. May Correspondence.


Subject Headings

Persons

May, Samuel J. (Samuel Joseph), 1797-1871.
Mott, Lucretia, 1793-1880.

Subjects

Abolitionists -- United States.
Feminists -- United States.
Women's rights -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Lucretia Mott Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2010.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 588 May, Samuel J. 1856