Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Howard Moss Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: JA
Date: Jan 1975

Revision history:
15 Apr 2008 converted to EAD (AMCon)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Moss, Howard, 1922-
Title: Howard Moss Collection
Dates: 1941-1966
Quantity: 1.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American poet, critic, dramatist, and editor. A single item of correspondence, and writings.
Language: Majority in English, some in French
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Howard Moss (1922-1987) was an American poet, dramatist, children's author, editor, and critic. Born in New York City, he attended the University of Michigan 1939-1940 where he won a Hopwood Award; Harvard University during the summer of 1942; and received his BA from the University of Wisconsin in 1943. He later did graduate work at Columbia University.

Moss was an instructor at Vassar College in 1945-1946, and in 1948 became the Poetry Editor of The New Yorker magazine, a post he held for more than thirty-five years until his death in 1987.

Some of Moss' works include the following:

Moss was awarded the 1972 National Book Award for his Selected Poems.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Howard Moss Collection consists of correspondence, criticism, drama, and poetry.

Correspondence contains one letter, written by Sinclair Lewis. Criticism contains three book reviews and the manuscript for The Magic Lantern of Marcel Proust. Drama contains successive drafts of two plays, The Folding Green and the Oedipus-Mah-Jongg Scandal.

Poetry has four subdivisions. First, poems published in Finding Them Lost are presented alphabetically, after the author's manuscript for this book. The next subdivision is poems published in Second Nature. The third subdivision is "Other Poetry", consisting of occasional, light verse, unpublished, or incomplete, or unfinished poems. These too are listed alphabetically. The last subdivision is "Other Works", a category created for a book of poems for children, Tigers and Other Lilies, and its successive revisions.

Note on drafts: During processing, drafts were labelled e.g. A, B, C, etc. This was done with careful attention to paper characteristics, completeness of the manuscript, revisions and their subsequent incorporations, but these labels were designated solely at the processor's discretion, and should not be taken as either author's notation or as scholarly direction. In the seven versions of "The Folding Green", Moss does inscribe one as "Second version" and one as "Fourth version"; the researcher must choose his own path.


Arrangement of the Collection

See Scope and Content above.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Lewis, Sinclair, 1885-1951.
Moss, Howard, 1922-

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
American poetry -- 20th century.
Dramatists, American.
Poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Drafts (documents)
Galley proofs.
Manuscripts for publication.
Poems.

Occupations

Dramatists.
Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Howard Moss Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Criticism

Drama

Poetry


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Lewis, Sinclair. undated - holograph letter, signed (1p.)
Criticism
Box 1 Folksongs of the World, book review. undated - holograph manuscript, holograph notes, successive revisions, signed (10pp.)
Box 1 Legal size envelope with holograph notations undated (1p.)
The Magic Lantern of Marcel Proust
Box 1 Galley proof with holograph notes and revisions 1962 (43pp.)
Box 1 typescript manuscript, holograph notes, signed (in notebook) undated (88pp.)
Box 1 The Pilgrim Hawk, book review. undated - typescript, holograph notes, successive revisions, signed (39pp.)
Box 1 Stories of Katherine Anne Porter, book review. undated - typescript, holograph notes, signed (7pp.)
Drama
The Folding Green ca. 1958
Box 1 Draft A undated - typescript, holograph notes, revisions and ideas (58pp.)
Box 1 Draft B undated - mimeo and holograph succ. rev (125pp.)
Box 1 Draft C undated - typescript, typescript (carbon copy), holograph notes, succ. rev (109pp.)
Box 1 Draft D June 1958 - typescript (carbon copy)., bound, holograph note, "Second Version" (91pp.)
Box 1 Draft E undated - mimeo copy of play, holograph note, "Fourth Version" (102pp.)
Box 1 Draft F undated - typescript copy of play, bound, signed ( 85pp.)
Box 2 Draft G 1965 - typescript, typescript (carbon copy), mimeo, holograph notes, bound (103pp.)
Box 2 The Oedipus-Mah-Jongg Scandal undated - typescript, holograph notes, successive revisions, signed (74pp.)
Box 2 Legal size envelope with holograph notations undated (1p.)
Poetry
Box 2 Galley proof for Finding Them Lost, signed 1965 (26pp.)
Box 2 Legal-size envelope with holograph notations undated (1p.)
Box 2 typescript and typescript (carbon copy) MS for Finding Them Lost undated - holograph notes (55pp.)
Box 2 "After the Flood" undated - typescript, typescript (carbon copy), holograph notes, succ. rev (4pp.)
Box 2 "At the Fire Fountain (Christmas in Radio City)" undated - typescript, holograph notes, succ. rev (10pp.)
Box 2 printed material The New Yorker, containing this poem Dec. 16, 1961
Box 2 "The Breakwater" undated - typescript, typescript (carbon copy),holograph notes, succ. rev (4pp.)
Box 2 Legal-size envelope with holograph notations undated (1p.)
"Buddy"
See "Lifelines"
"Carlton"
See "Lifelines"
"The Cemetery by the Sea" - printed material
Box 2 Valery's "Le Cimitiere Marin", in French, and a translation of same by Barbara Gibbs undated (5pp.)
Box 2 holograph manuscript, typescript, holograph notes, successive revisions undated (19pp.)
"Chester"
See "Lifelines"
Box 2 "Colorado" undated - typescript, typescript (carbon copy), holograph notes, successive revisions (12pp.)
Box 2 "Crossing the Park" undated - typescript, typescript (carbon copy), holograph notes, successive revisions, signed (15pp.)
"Edith"
See "Lifelines"
"Eva"
See "Lifelines"
Box 2 "The Fall" undated - typescript manuscript (1p.)
"Fred"
See "Lifelines"
Box 2 "History" undated - typescript, holograph notes, successive revisions (8pp.)
"Jake", "Jane", "Jay", "Joan", "Lee"
See "Lifelines"
"Lifelines"
The persons in the poem "Lifelines" underwent a metamorphosis of names while the poem was evolving. Thus, fifteen names are titling five basic poems. No attempt was made to arrange these beyond the five divisions. All of the revisions and poems must stay together and not be sorted individually into the larger alphabetic list.
Box 2 "Eva" galley proof for The New Yorker 10/8/64 (1p.)
Box 2 "Miriam" galley proof forThe New Yorker 10/8/64 (1p.)
Box 2 typescript, typescript (carbon copy), xerox, holograph, holograph notes, successive revisions undated (58pp.)
"Lu", "Marilyn", "Miriam", "Phil"
See "Lifelines"
"Robinson"
Box 2 galley proof for The New Yorker 9/11/64 (1p.)
Box 2 typescript, typescript (carbon copy), holograph notes, successive revisions, signed undated - (16pp.)
Box 2 "The Sea to Hart Crane" undated - typescript, holograph notes, successive revisions (9pp.)
Box 2 "Semblances" undated - typescript, typescript (carbon copy), holograph notes, successive revisions (4pp.)
"September Elegy"
Box 2 galley proof for The New Yorker 9/11/64 (1p.)
Box 2 typescript, typescript (carbon copy), holograph notes, successive revisions undated (29pp.)
Box 2 "A Ship Going Down" undated - typescript, holograph notes, signed, successive revisions (9pp.)
Box 2 "The Sun Porch" undated - typescript, holograph notes, successive revisions (11pp.)
Box 2 "A Tree Surgeon in New York" undated - typescript, xerox, holograph notes, successive revisions (5pp.)
Box 2 "Wild Original Spring" undated - typescript, holograph notes (1p.)
Poems published in Second Nature 1968
Box 2 "Another Life" undated - typescript, typescript (carbon copy), holograph notes, successive revisions, signed (6pp.)
"Arsenic"
Box 2 galley proof for The New Yorker 10/ 5/66 (2pp.)
Box 2 typescript, holograph notes, successive revisions, signed undated (10pp.)
Box 2 "The Bay Stone" undated - typescript, typescript (carbon copy), holograph notes, successive revisions, signed (10pp.)
"Beach Glass"
Box 3 galley proof for The New Yorker 11/ 2/66 (1p.)
See also "The Dune Wig"
Box 3 typescript, typescript (carbon copy), holograph notes, successive revisions, signed undated (18pp.)
Box 3 "Drinks with X, or The Woman in Black" undated - typescript, typescript (carbon copy), holograph notes, successive revisions, signed (23pp.)
Box 3 "The Dune Wig" undated undated - typescript, holograph notes, signed (1p.)
See also "Beach Glass"
"Front Street"
Box 3 galley proof for The New Yorker 3/14/66 (2pp.)
Box 3 typescript, holograph notes, successive revisions, signed undated (13pp.)
Box 3 "Going Dutch" undated - typescript, typescript (carbon copy), holograph notes, successive revisions, signed (3pp.)
Box 3 "Great Spaces" undated - typescript, holograph notes, signed (1p.)
Box 3 "The Maid's Story" undated - typescript, typescript (carbon copy), holograph notes, signed (4pp.)
"The Meeting"
Box 3 galley proof for The New Yorker 9/20/65 (1p.)
Box 3 typescript, holograph notes, successive revisions, signed undated (2pp.)
"Particular Beauties"
Box 3 galley proof for The New Yorker 10/25/66 (1p.)
Box 3 typescript, holograph notes, successive revisions, signed undated (4pp.)
Box 3 "Piano Practice" undated - typescript, typescript (carbon copy), holograph notes, signed (13pp.)
"Still Pond, No More Moving", galley proofs for The New Yorker
Box 3 galley A 6/24/66 (3pp.)
Box 3 galley B 9/21/65 - typescript notes (3pp.)
Box 3 galley C 9/21/65 - holograph notes (3pp.)
Box 3 typescript, typescript (carbon copy), holograph notes, successive revisions, signed undated (35pp.)
"The Vase"
Box 3 galley proof for The New Yorker 11/17/66 (1p.)
Box 3 typescript, typescript (carbon copy), holograph notes, signed undated (12pp.)
Other poetry
Box 3 "After the Party" undated - typescript, holograph notes, signed (1p.)
Box 3 "Bores" undated - typescript (1p.)
Box 3 "By the Stream" undated - typescript, holograph notes, signed (1p.)
Box 3 "Cows" undated - typescript (2p.)
Box 3 "Elizabethan Tragedy: A Footnote" undated - typescript, holograph notes, signed (1p.)
Box 3 "Girls" undated - typescript, revisions (2pp.)
Box 3 "Herons; for the 77th Birthday of Marianne Moore" undated - typescript, typescript (carbon copy), holograph notes (5pp.)
Box 3 "Monsoon" undated - typescript, holograph notes (1p.)
Box 3 "Notes for a Psychological Novel Laid in the Far East" undated - typescript, signed (1p.)
Box 3 "NYC" undated - typescript, holograph notes (1p.)
Box 3 "On the Difficulty of Obtaining Potions" undated - typescript, typescript (carbon copy), holograph notes (2pp.)
Box 3 "Origins" undated - typescript, holograph notes (1p.)
"The Persistance of Song"
Box 3 galley proof for The New Yorker 4/ 5/66 (1p.)
Box 3 typescript, holograph notes, signed undated (2pp.)
Box 3 Legal-size envelope with holograph notations undated (1p.)
Box 3 "A Picture Hung Two Ways" undated - typescript, holograph notes (2pp.)
Box 3 "A Problem in Morals" undated - typescript, holograph notes (1p.)
Box 3 "A Rented Sail" undated - typescript, holograph note, succ. rev (3pp.)
Box 3 "Rusty" undated - typescript, holograph notes, signed (4pp.)
"The Skater's Waltz"
Box 3 galley proof for The New Yorker 9/20/65 - holograph notes, signed (1p.)
Box 3 typescript, holograph notes, signed undated (2pp.)
Box 3 "Social Climbing" undated - typescript, holograph notes (9pp.)
Box 3 "Taxis" undated - typescript (1p.)
Box 3 "The Temperate Zone" undated - typescript (1p.)
Box 3 "A Thank-you Note for Imaginary Gifts" undated - typescript, holograph notes (1p.)
Box 3 (Untitled) "There are no rocks" undated - typescript (1p.)
Box 3 "Utilities" undated - typescript, holograph notes (2pp.)
Other works
Tigers and Other Lilies, a book of poems for children
Box 3 manila envelope with holograph notations undated (1p.)
Box 3 Draft A undated - typescript, holograph notes, signed (23pp.)
Box 3 Draft B undated - revisions of poems which appear in final manuscript, Draft A. typescript, successive revisions, holograph notes (54pp.)
Box 3 Draft C undated - sources, and successive revisions of poems not included in final manuscript. typescript, holograph notes (62pp.)