Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Morse Family Account Books

A description of their account books at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 17 November 2009

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Morse family.
Title: Morse Family Account Books
Dates: 1797-1858
Quantity: 2 folders (SC)
Abstract: Four blacksmith account books kept by three generations of the Massachusetts Morse family.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Mnason Morse (1776-1856) was a blacksmith in the adjacent towns of Sturbridge and Southbridge, Massachusetts. He married Hannah Richmond in 1798 and they had eight children. The fourth, Lorenzo Morse, born 8 September 1807, became a blacksmith like his father and worked in Southbridge. At mid-century, Charley Mnason Morse, a family member of unknown relation, continued the family blacksmith business.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Morse Family Account Books consists of 4 ledgers kept by the Morse blacksmiths. The books contain names of customers, lists of items or services purchased, prices, and dates of payment. The first book is signed by Mnason Morse and spans 1797-1802. The second book is also signed Mnason Morse and spans 1809-1821. The third book is signed by Lorenzo Morse and spans 1831-1850. The fourth book is signed by Charley Mnason Morse and spans 1848-1858.


Arrangement of the Collection

The account books are in chronological order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center holds records from several other blacksmiths, including the Munson Family Account Books and the Blacksmith Shop Collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Morse family -- Archives.
Morse, Charley Mnason.
Morse, Lorenzo, b. 1807.
Morse, Mnason, 1776-1856.

Subjects

Blacksmithing -- Massachusetts -- 19th century.

Places

Southbridge (Mass.) -- History.
Sturbridge (Mass.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Account books.

Occupations

Blacksmiths.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Morse Family Account Books,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 1968.


Table of Contents

Account Books


Inventory

Account Books
SC 354 1797-1802, 1809-1821.
SC 354 1831-1850, 1848-1858.