Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Frank Morigi Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: Aug 2011

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Morigi, Francis C.
Title: Frank Morigi Papers
Dates: 1968-2004
Quantity: 3.25 linear ft.
Abstract: American interior/industrial designer and Syracuse University professor. Collection includes articles, clippings, photographs, working drawings, specifications, student work and other items relating to educational, hotel/restaurant, office space, retail and historical preservation projects.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Frank Morigi is an American interior design consultant and educator. He began his career in 1965 in Chicago with the firm of Norman R. DeHaan Associates, for whom he designed interiors for stores, restaurants, exhibit spaces and offices throughout the United States and Canada. He has taught at Southern Illinois University and at Syracuse University, where he was Professor of Interior Design and Chair of the Department of Design. Research projects, many of which involved his students, have included design studies for Haworth, the Juvenile Products Manufacturing Association, and the National Institute of Preservation of Cultural Properties. He has been a consultant for numerous state-funded historical preservation projects in Central New York.

He also has degrees in theatre from Carnegie-Mellon University and the Art Institute of Chicago, and has worked on sets, lighting and costumes for the Lyric Opera of Chicago and the St. Louis Municipal Opera, among other organizations.

Morigi has received numerous awards over his career, among them two Outstanding Teacher Awards from Syracuse University as well as that institution's Distinguished Professor Emeritus rank, the American Society of Interior Designers' Presidential Citation, and his students have received more than forty national and international student design awards from a wide range of industry and professional design organizations.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Frank Morigi Papers consist of material relating to Morigi's work for Norman R. DeHaan Associates in Chicago, and to his teaching career at Syracuse University.

DeHaan Associates material contains specifications, articles, clippings and photographs relating to education, hotel/restaurant, office space and retail projects, most of them in and around Chicago, Illinois where the firm was based. Projects include Hyde Park High School and the O'Hare International Tower hotel.

Syracuse University material includes awards won by the department and its students; exhibit invitations for the NY Eleven student organization; historic preservation projects in and around Syracuse including the well-known Octagon House; newsletters, handouts and other items related to the Design Department, both past and present; research projects, many of which were adapted for class projects for graduate and undergraduate students; and material relating to two seminars offered by the department.


Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged alphabetically by title or topic.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Morigi, Francis C.

Corporate Bodies

Norman R. DeHaan Associates.
Syracuse University. -- College of Visual and Performing Arts.

Subjects

Architecture -- Chicago Metropolitan Area.
Decoration and ornament, Architectural -- United States.
Historic buildings -- Conservation and restoration.
Hotels -- Design and construction.
Interior architecture -- United States.
Interior decoration -- United States.
Office layout.
Restaurants -- Design and construction.
Schools -- Design and construction.

Places

Chicago (Ill.) -- Buildings, structures, etc.
Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Buildings, structures, etc.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Photographs.

Occupations

College teachers.
Designers.
Interior decorators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Frank Morigi Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Frank Morigi, 2011.


Table of Contents

Biographical material

DeHaan Associates

Syracuse University


Inventory

Biographical material
Box 1 Resume / c.v.
DeHaan Associates
Articles about
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Education projects
Box 1 Elm Place Middle School, Highland Park, Illinois 1971 - specifications for furnishings and lockers
Box 1 Governors State University, Park Forest South, Illinois 1971 - interim campus moveable equipment
Tube 1450 Governors State University, Park Forest South, Illinois - working drawings (diazo prints), 28 sheets
Box 1 Hyde Park High School, Chicago, Illinois undated - published results of competition in which DeHaan Assoc. took second place
Box 1 Sangamon State University, Springfield, Illinois 1971 - Phase B interim facilities interior partition systems
Box 1 Mscellaneous printed items - articles, clippings, photographs
Hotel and restaurant projects
Box 1 Arlington Park Tower, Arlington Heights, Illinois 1973 - specifications for fixed drapery and casement
Box 1 Bronze Vail restaurant 1968 - Food Service Magazine article on the concept project; brochure with concept drawings
Box 1 Cousins Club II supper club, Chicago, Illinois 1970 - specifications
Box 1 Dayton's Bubbling Kettle, Fargo, North Dakota 1972 - specifications for cabinetry, room finish and carpet work; small set of blueprints
Box 1 Don Roth restaurant, Chicago, Illinois 1972 - specifications
Box 1 Frying Dutchman 1968 - Food Service Magazine article on the concept project
Box 2 O'Hare International Tower hotel, Chicago, Illinois 1972-1973 - specifications for interior finishing of specific areas; specifications for carpeting; slides; two articles (2 folders)
Tube 1453 O'Hare International Tower hotel, Chicago, Illinois - working drawings (diazo prints), 25 sheets
Box 2 Taberna restaurant 1970 - specifications; Food Service Magazine article on
Tube 1452 Miscellaneous working drawings - 26 sheets (diazo prints)
Office planning
Box 2 J & H International Corporation 1970 - specifications for carpeting
Box 2 State National Bank, Evanston, Illinois 1970 - specifications for basement remodeling
Box 2 Miscellaneous photographs undated
Tube 1453 Miscellaneous working drawings - 7 sheets (diazo prints)
Retail
Box 2 Adler Shoe Store, Brooklyn, New York 1970 - specifications
Box 2 Brass Boot shoe stores 1970-1971, 1973 - specifications for stores in Chicago, Milwaukee and New Orleans (2 folders)
Box 3 Brass Boot shoe store 1970, 1973 - specifications for Vernon Hills, Illinois, store; maintenance manual; printed publicity brochure
Tube 1450 La Tinas store, New York, New York - 2 sets working drawings (diazo prints), 38 items
Box 3 Morgan-Hayes Shoe Store, Dallas, Texas 1970 - specifications
Box 3 Paddor's, Schaumburg, Illinois 1971 - specifications
Box 3 Pompian Shop, Chicago, Illinois 1970 - specifications
Box 3 Weyenberg Shoe Manufacturing / Brass Boot 1973 - specifications
Tube 1451 Weyenberg Shoe Manufacturing / Brass Boot - working drawings for various locations (diazo prints), 54 sheets
Box 3 Miscellaneous printed material - articles, clippings, photographs
Tube 1452 Miscellaneous working drawings - 33 sheets (diazo prints)
Syracuse University
Awards
Box 3 1970s-1980s - awards won by SU Department of Design and/or its students (2 folders)
Box 4 1980s, 1990s, undated - awards won by students and/or by the SU Department of Design (3 folders)
Exhibits
Box 4 NY Eleven student exhibitions 2002-2004 - printed material
Historic preservation projects
Box 4 Metropolitan School for the Arts 1988 - historic restoration and adaptive reuse of 1917 Masonic Temple as a school
Box 4 Oakwood Cemetery 1976, 1991, undated - historic preservation and adaptive reuse study; printed material relating to history of the site
Box 4 Octagon House (aka Wilcox Octagon House) 1987 - historic restoration and adaptive reuse studies
Box 4 Rescue Mission 1998 - project proposal for New Life Center
Box 5 St. Camillus Health and Rehabilitation Center 1997 - interior design proposal
Box 5 SA&K Building 1984 - renovation designs
Box 5 Southside Preparatory Academy 1985 - relocation study
Box 5 Spanish Action League 1984 - renovation grant proposal
Box 5 Syracuse Visitors Center 1986 - redesign of Firehouse No. 1 as visitors' bureau
Box 5 Miscellaneous printed material - articles, clippings, photographs
Newsletters, handouts
Box 5 Miscellaneous 1980s - printed items relating to the Interior Design Program at SU
Program history
Box 5 Miscellaneous 1979-1983, undated - correspondence, clippings, handwritten notes, other items relating to the history of the Interior Design Program at SU
Research
Box 5 Circulation 1985 - "interior dialectics project" for DES447
Box 6 Free address office systems 1990 - "office of the future" project
Box 6 Human office environment 1986 - Junior class sketch problem, project for DES348
Box 6 Human office environment 1985 - Senior class sketch problem, project for DES447
Box 6 Human office environment 1986 - description of project funded by grant from Haworth, Inc.; "The Future Workspace" (2 folders)
Box 6 Nursery environment forecast 1992 - student competition
Box 7 Salesmanship 1986 - project for DES447
Box 7 Miscellaneous student projects undated
Box 7 Miscellaneous printed material 1985-1991 - clippings, press releases, etc.
Seminars
Box 7 70 Years of Interior Design at Syracuse University 1993
Box 7 Interior Design Education and the Future 1975