Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Moore Family Photographs

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 17 Aug 2007

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Moore, —
Title: Moore Family Photographs
Dates: ca. 1890
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Small scrapbook containing photographs of Myron T. Moore, watchmaker in Auburn, New York. Also included are other family members, the family home at 1 Aurelius Avenue, and local scenes in Auburn, Marcellus and Ithaca.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Myron T. Moore (1857-1938) was the fourth generation of the Moore family to occupy the house at 1 Aurelius Avenue in Auburn, New York. Moore was an expert jeweler and watchmaker, and for 32 years was watch inspector for the Auburn Division of the Lehigh Valley Railroad. He and his wife, Hattie, had one son, Charles Walter Moore.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Moore Family Photographs consist of a small scrapbook of 11 photographs pasted to linen backing. Subjects include waterfalls at Owasco Lake, the Nye & Waits Factory in Auburn, a bridge in Corning, New York with several family members dressed in ca. 1890 style, the family steam launch Pastime, the family home at 1 Aurelius Avenue, a family group with identification on the back, and a portrait of Myron T. Moore.

The family group names include "Hattie" and an elderly women identified as "Mama," so the scrapbook may have been compiled by Myron T. Moore himself, though this cannot be confirmed.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Moore family.
Moore, Myron T.

Corporate Bodies

Nye & Wait Carpet Company.

Places

Auburn (N.Y.) -- Photographs.
Corning (N.Y.) -- Photographs.
Ithaca (N.Y.) -- Photographs.
Marcellus (N.Y.) -- Photographs.

Genres and Forms

Photographs.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Moore Family Photographs,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased from Blackman Fund, 2007.


Table of Contents

Photographs


Inventory

Photographs
SC 198 Scrapbook with 11 photos ca. 1890