Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Don Moore Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01

Biographical History

Don Moore (1918-1992) was an American cartoonist for the Waukegan (Illinois) News Sun and also for WGN-TV in Chicago. His worked appeared in the Best Editorial Cartoons of the Year series.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Don Moore Cartoons consist of seven original editorial cartoons. The cartoons are not dated but are from before 1967. Moore drew the cartoons on illustration board with ink and crayon. The cartoons have paper overlays and while not dated, on the back of several there a day of the week is listed.


Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Subject Headings


Gaulle, Charles de, 1890-1970 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Moore, Don.


American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- Illinois.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Editorial cartoons -- Illinois.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
Firearms and crime -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Natural resources -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Voting -- Caricatures and cartoons.
World politics -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.


United States -- Politics and government -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Editorial cartoons.



Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Don Moore Cartoons
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Don Moore, 1967.

Table of Contents