Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Earl of Minto Letter

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 3 Aug 2015

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Minto, Gilbert John Murray Kynynmond Elliot, Earl of, 1845-1914.
Title: Earl of Minto Letter
Dates: 1895
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter from the fourth Earl of Minto, evidently in reponse to a request for an autograph, to an unidentified recipient surnamed Villiers.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Gilbert John Murray Kynynmond Elliot (1845-1914), sometimes also listed as Gilbert Elliot-Murray-Kynynmound, was the fourth Earl of Minto. He served as Governor General of Canada (1898-1904) and as Viceroy and Governor-General of India (1905-1910).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Earl of Minto Letter consists of a letter from the fourth Earl of Minto, on ducal letterhead. The brief note, addressed to "Dear Villiers," was evidently written in reponse to a request for an autograph.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Minto, Gilbert John Murray Kynynmond Elliot, Earl of, 1845-1914.

Subjects

Autographs -- Collectors and collecting.
Nobility -- England.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Earl of Minto Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 756 Villiers, — 19 Oct 1895