Collection inventory


Finding Aids

J. Elet Milton Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 25 Oct 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Milton, J. Elet.
Title: J. Elet Milton Collection
Dates: 1848-1958
Quantity: 2 linear ft.
Abstract: Resident and historian in Brewerton, New York. Collection contains legal and financial papers, correspondence, bound ledger books.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

J. Elet Milton (1881-1968) was a long-time resident of Brewerton, New York. Milton was very interested in local history; he donated his substantial collection to the Fort Brewerton Historical Society and made available the land where the first Brewerton Museum was built on Library Street in 1965.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The J. Elet Milton Collection consists of legal and financial papers, correspondence and bound ledger books.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Milton, J. Elet.

Places

Brewerton (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Financial records.
Ledgers (account books)
Legal records.

Occupations

Historians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

J. Elet Milton Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of J. Elet Milton, 1963.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.