Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Richard Monckton Milnes Letter

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 29 October 2009

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Milnes, Richard Monckton, Baron Houghton, 1809-1885
Title: Richard Monckton Milnes Letter
Dates: undated
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Undated letter signed by Richard Monckton Milnes.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Richard Monckton Milnes, first Baron Houghton (1809-1885) was a British politician, poet, and patron of the arts. He was an MP for Pontefract from 1837 until 1863, when he was made a peer. He wrote a number of books of poetry, including Palm Leaves, but was better known for his patronage of promising young writers than for his own literary talents. He championed poets such as Alfred Tennyson, Algernon Swinburne, and Ralph Waldo Emerson.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Richard Monckton Milnes Letter consists of an undated letter sent by Milnes to an unknown correspondent.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Milnes, Richard Monckton, Baron Houghton, 1809-1885.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Richard Monckton Milnes Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 347 undated