Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Jonas Milne Autograph Collection

An inventory of his collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 20 October 2009

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Milne, Jonas.
Title: Jonas Milne Autograph Collection
Dates: 1837-1889
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: A collection of autographed letters and correspondence from notable Victorians, including Congregational ministers, politicians, and scientists.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Jonas Milne was a nineteenth-century man who collected autographed letters from a variety of famous correspondents.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jonas Milne Autograph Collection contains correspondence from a variety of notable Victorian-era personalities, including ministers, politicians, and scientists. Many of the correspondents are Congregational ministers such as Robert Halley, Robert Knill, John Leifchild and John Pye Smith. Milne also had an interest in natural history and collected letters from scientists such as William Benjamin Carpenter, John Just, and George William Francis. Most letters are attached to sheets of paper which include biographical and identifying information about the correspondents.


Arrangement of the Collection

Letters are in the original order that Jonas Milne collected them, as indicated by the numbering of the pages to which they are attached. Unattached letters are in chronological order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has several other collections of autographs, such as the Gordon N. Ray Collection of Victorian Autographs.


Subject Headings

Persons

Milne, Jonas.

Subjects

Autographs -- Collections.

Genres and Forms

Autographs.
Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jonas Milne Autograph Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 341 1837-1889