Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Arthur Mills Correspondence

An inventory of his correspondence at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: Aug 1993

Revision history:
28 Jan 2008 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Mills, Arthur, 1816-1898.
Title: Arthur Mills Correspondence
Dates: 1840-1897
Quantity: 4 v. (SC)
Abstract: Papers of the Conservative member of Parliament representing Exeter, a member of the London School Board, and a member of the Board of Directors of the London and South Western Railway. Incoming correspondence (1840-1897) from members of both houses of Parliment, members of the Grillion Club, and churchmen. Subjects include government, politics and the church, emigration and immigration, colonies and their governments, the Suez Canal, theological and ecclesiastical matters, schools, and membership of the Grillion Club.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Arthur Mills was a British politician and businessman. He was a Conservative member of Parliament representing Exeter, a member of the London School Board, and a member of the Board of Directors of the London and South Western Railway.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Arthur Mills Correspondence consists of four volumes of correspondence, 1840-1897, containing 569 letters. The letters consist of incoming correspondence, mainly from other members of Parliament (both Lords and Commons), churchmen, and members of the Grillion Club. The letters touch on subjects related to government, politics and the church, including the House of Commons, emigration and immigration, Colonies and colonial government, the Suez Canal, theological and ecclesiastical matters, schools and the membership of the Grillion Club.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Great Britain. Parliament. House of Commons.
Grillion Club (London, England)

Subjects

Church and state -- Great Britain.
Education -- England -- London.
Legislators -- Great Britain.

Places

Great Britain -- Colonies -- Administration.
Great Britain -- Emigration and immigration -- Government policy.
Great Britain -- Politics and government -- 1837-1901.
Great Britain -- Religion -- 19th century.
Suez Canal (Egypt)

Genres and Forms

Letters (correspondence)

Occupations

Legislators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Arthur Mills Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 3 1840-1897 (4 volumes)