Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Aug 1989
|18 May 2010||converted to EAD (MRC)|
|28 Aug 2013||rehoused scrapbooks, oversize items (MRC)|
|2 Feb 2015||corrected/updated oversize box listing (MRC)|
Overview of the Collection
|Creator:||Miller, Nathan L., 1868-1953.|
|Title:||Nathan Lewis Miller Papers|
|Quantity:||15 linear ft.|
|Abstract:||Papers of the New York Governor (1921 to 1922), attorney, General Counsel of U.S. Steel Corporation. Collection contains correspondence, both incoming and outgoing (1902-1958); legal briefs; writings (1922-1953); and memorabilia including family photographs and scrapbooks of political cartoons and clippings (1921-1922). Correspondents include Roger Blough, Calvin Coolidge, Richard Coughlin, Charles Crandall, Frederick Crane, Thomas E. Dewey, John Foster Dulles, Dwight D. Eisenhower, Benjamin Fairless, James A. Farley, Livingstone Farrand, James W. Fawcett, Haley Fiske, Edgar Allen Forbes, George A. Glynn, Will H. Hays, Christian Herter, Richmond Hobson, Herbert Hoover, Charles Evans Hughes, Cordell Hull, Alfred Landon, Herbert Lehman, Irving Lehman, Clayton Lusk, Albert Mann, J.P. Morgan, Irving Olds, Joseph Proskauer, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Theodore Roosevelt, Flem Sampson, Alfred E. Smith, Edward R. Stettinius, Henry Stoddard, William H. Taft, Myron Taylor, Arthur Vandenberg, Paul Vernon, Enders Voorhees, Carl Vrooman, William Wadhams, Wilbur Wakeman, John Weeks, Everett Wheeler, Horace White, and Wendell Willkie.|
|Repository:||Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
Nathan Lewis Miller (1868-1953) was an American conservative politician and attorney. He was New York State Comptroller from 1901 to 1903 and sat on the New York State Supreme Court from 1903-1915. He served as Governor of New York (1921-1922) and as General Counsel of U.S. Steel Corporation (1925- ).
The Nathan Lewis Miller Papers comprise correspondence, legal briefs, memorabilia, and writings of the lawyer and New York State Governor (1921-1922). Spanning the years 1902 to 1958, the collection reflects Miller's public life as New York State Comptroller, State Supreme Court Justice, and Governor as well as his private law practice and his service as General Counsel for United States Steel Corporation.
The correspondence (Box 1) is arranged chronologically with a selected index of correspondents at the end of the inventory, and is in both volume and substance most heavily concentrated in the 1920s. An activist in both state and national Republican Party politics, Miller included among his correspondents Calvin Coolidge, Thomas Dewey, John Foster Dulles, Dwight D. Eisenhower, Herbert Hoover, Charles Evans Hughes, Cordell Hull, Alfred M. Landon, Herbert Lehman, Franklin Roosevelt, William Howard Taft, Robert F. Wagner and Wendell Willkie. In addition to the political correspondence are a number of letters involving Miller's trusteeship of Cornell University and several others which concern financial matters.
Boxes 2-4 of the collection contain printed legal briefs for four of Miller's cases, memorabilia, including photographs and a scrapbook of obituaries, and writings. The writings include two drafts and the printed version of Miller's theory about the authorship of Shakespeare's plays, a printed copy of his autobiographical Recollections (1953), and three volumes of speeches, mostly in mimeographed form, from the 1922 gubernatorial campaign.
In addition, there are 6 oversized packages of memorabilia, including two commissions, two photograph albums, one photograph, and five scrapbooks, dated 1921-1922. One of the scrapbooks contains mainly newspaper cartoons and photographs of Miller, while the others are mostly newspaper clippings.
Correspondence is arranged chronologically. Other material is arranged alphabetically by type or title.
Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Blough, Roger M. (Roger Miles), 1904-1985.
Coolidge, Calvin, 1872-1933.
Crandall, Charles H. (Charles Henry), 1858-1923.
Crane, Frederick E. (Frederick Evan), 1869-1947.
Dewey, Thomas E. (Thomas Edmund), 1902-1971.
Dulles, John Foster, 1888-1959.
Eisenhower, Dwight D. (Dwight David), 1890-1969.
Fairless, Benjamin F. (Benjamin Franklin), 1890-
Farley, James A. (James Aloysius), 1888-1976.
Farrand, Livingston, 1867-1939.
Fawcett, James Waldo, 1893-1968.
Fiske, Haley, 1852-1929.
Forbes, Edgar Allen, 1872-
Glynn, George A.
Hays, Will H. (Will Harrison), 1879-1954.
Herter, Christian Archibald, 1895-1966.
Hobson, Richmond Pearson, 1870-1937.
Hoover, Herbert, 1874-1964.
Hughes, Charles Evans, 1862-1948.
Hull, Cordell, 1871-1955.
Lamont, Thomas W. (Thomas William), 1870-1948.
Landon, Alfred M. (Alfred Mossman), 1887-1987.
Lehman, Herbert H. (Herbert Henry), 1878-1963.
Lehman, Irving, 1876-1945.
Lusk, Clayton R. (Clayton Riley), b. 1872.
Mann, Albert Russell, 1880-1947.
Miller, Nathan L., 1868-1953.
Morgan, J. P. (John Pierpont), 1867-1943.
Olds, Irving Sands, 1887-
Proskauer, Joseph M. (Joseph Meyer), 1877-1971.
Roosevelt, Franklin D. (Franklin Delano), 1882-1945.
Roosevelt, Theodore, 1887-1944.
Sampson, Flem D.
Smith, Alfred Emanuel, 1873-1944.
Stettinius, Edward R., Jr. (Edward Reilly), 1900-1949.
Stoddard, Henry L. (Henry Luther), 1861-1947.
Taft, William H. (William Howard), 1857-1930.
Taylor, Myron Charles, 1874-1959.
Vandenberg, Arthur H. (Arthur Hendrick), 1884-1951.
Vernon, Paul E. (Paul Egbert), b. 1869.
Voorhees, Enders M. (Enders McClumpha), b. 1891.
Vrooman, Carl Schurz, 1872-1966.
Wadhams, William H. (William Henderson), 1873-1952.
Wakeman, Wilbur F.
Weeks, John W. (John Wingate), 1860-1926.
Wheeler, Everett Pepperrell, 1840-1925.
White, Horace, 1834-1916.
Willkie, Wendell L. (Wendell Lewis), 1892-1944.
Republican Party (N.Y.)
Republican Party (U.S. : 1854- )
United States Steel Corporation.
Governors -- New York (State)
New York (State) -- Politics and government, 1865-1950.
Genres and Forms
Clippings (information artifacts)
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Nathan Lewis Miller Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Gift of the Miller Family and U.S. Steel Corp., 1965 and 1969.
Selected Index to Correspondence
|Box 1||General 1902-1958 (17 folders)|
|Box 1||General undated|
|Box 2||United States of America v. Columbia Steel Company [et al.] (2 folders)|
|Box 2||United States of America vs. Elgin, Joliet and Eastern Railway Company|
|Box 2||United States Steel Corporation [et al.] v. Federal Trade Commission|
|Box 2||The Youngstown Sheet and Tube Company [et al.] v. Charles Sawyer|
|Oversize 14||Certificate of appointment as State Comptroller 1901|
|Oversize 14||Certificate of appointment as Associate Justice of the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court for the Second Judicial Department 1904|
|Oversize 13||New York State canal system inspection trip Aug. 15-20, 1921|
|Oversize 13||[untitled] - New York State gubernatorial duties, portraits, group photos, etc.|
|Oversize 14||Portrait photograph of Miller|
|Scrapbooks - pages and clippings are in extremely fragile and brittle condition; scrapbooks are numbered for ease of reference, but the material is not always in chronological order|
|Oversize 1||[Clippings, volume 1] 1921-1922 - articles on political and governmental topics|
|Oversize 2||[Clippings, volume 1 cont.] 1921-1922 - articles on political and governmental topics|
|Oversize 3||[Clippings, volume 1 cont.] 1921-1922 - articles on political and governmental topics|
|Oversize 4||[Clippings, volume 1 cont.] 1921-1922 - articles on political and governmental topics|
|Oversize 5||[Clippings, volume 1 cont.] 1921-1922 - articles on political and governmental topics|
|Oversize 6||[Clippings, volume 2] 1921-1922 - articles on political and governmental topics|
|Oversize 7||[Clippings, volume 3] 1921-1922 - articles on political and governmental topics|
|Oversize 8||[Clippings, volume 3 cont.] 1921-1922 - articles on political and governmental topics|
|Oversize 9||[Clippings, volume 3 cont.] 1921-1922 - articles on political and governmental topics|
|Oversize 10||[Clippings, volume 3 cont.] 1921-1922 - articles on political and governmental topics|
|Oversize 11||[Clippings, volume 4] 1921-1922 - articles on political and governmental topics|
|Oversize 12||[Clippings, volume 4 cont.] 1921-1922 - articles on political and governmental topics|
|Oversize 14||[Clippings, volume 5] 1921-1922 - cartoons, newspaper photographs, miscellaneous|
|"A Lawyer's Evaluation of the Evidence Relating to the Authorship of the Shakespearean Literature"|
|Box 2||Draft A|
|Box 2||Draft B|
|Box 2||Correspondence 1950-1952 (2 folders)|
|Box 2||Recollections 1953|
|Box 3||Speeches for gubernatorial campaign 1922 (2 volumes)|
|Box 4||Speeches for gubernatorial campaign 1922 (1 volume)|