Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Joaquin Miller Poem

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 15 October 2009

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Miller, Joaquin, 1837-1913.
Title: Joaquin Miller Poem
Dates: 1899
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Manuscript poem signed by American poet Joaquin Miller.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Joaquin Miller (1837-1913) was an American poet and author, born Cincinnatus Hiner Miller. Miller was known for his poems about the American West and cultivated the persona of a rustic frontiersman. He lead a nomadic and colorful life, being at various times a miner, a judge, a pony express rider, a newspaper editor, and a horse thief. His work was more popular in England than in the United States, although his most famous poem, "Columbus," was once regularly memorized by American schoolchildren.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Joaquin Miller Poem is an untitled, manuscript poem dated 31 January 1899 and signed by Miller. It is written on Hotel Lafayette of Philadelphia letterhead and is addressed to "my dear T." It reads, "There is no ugly thing on earth / There is no evil any where / There is no thing but hath some worth / If we but seek to see it there."

The folder also includes biographical clippings about Miller and Arthur Lewis Tubbs, an American playwright who once owned the poem.


Arrangement of the Collection

Items arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Miller, Joaquin, 1837-1913.

Subjects

Authors, American.
Poets, American.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Poems.

Occupations

Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Joaquin Miller Poem,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 340 31 Jan 1899 - manuscript poem by Joaquin Miller and related biographical clippings