Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Henry Miller Letter

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 13 October 2009

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Miller, Henry, 1891-1980.
Title: Henry Miller Letter
Dates: undated
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter from American author Henry Miller to Guy Repp, Broadway actor.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Henry Miller (1891-1980) was an American author. He was known for his experimental, surrealist novels, such as Tropic of Cancer, which mixed fiction and autobiography. His writing was controversial for its graphic depictions of sexuality, leading to a 1964 obscenity trial in the United States, Grove Press, Inc. v. Gerstein.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Henry Miller Letter consists of a two-page, handwritten letter sent by Miller to the Broadway actor Guy Repp. Miller expresses an interest in the theater and asks if Repp is still active in that world.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Other collections at SCRC also contain correspondence from Miller. Most significant is the collection from Miller's American publisher, the Grove Press Records, which includes legal records and clippings from the obscenity trial for Tropic of Cancer.


Subject Headings

Persons

Miller, Henry, 1891-1980.
Repp, Guy.

Subjects

Theater.
Authors, American.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Henry Miller Letter
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 339 Letter to Guy Repp undated