Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Dewitt Miller Correspondence

A description of his correspondence at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 10 October 2009

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Miller, Dewitt, 1857-1911.
Title: Dewitt Miller Correspondence
Dates: 1881-1907
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Correspondence of the American lecturer and book collector. Contains 30 letters sent to Miller by various authors and friends, mainly related to his book collecting and literary interests.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

(Jahu) Dewitt Miller (1857-1911) was an American lecturer and book collector.

Miller was a popular lecturer on the lyceum circuit in the late nineteenth century. He was also an avid book collector and amassed a large private library. In 1902, his collection was donated to the National Park Seminary, a girls' finishing school in Forest Glen, Maryland. A separate Miller Library building was built to house the collection. The library was sold and dispersed around 1942 when the United States Army acquired the property and the Seminary was closed.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Dewitt Miller Correspondence contains 30 letters sent to Miller by various authors and friends, mainly related to his book collecting and literary interests. Many of the letters are from contemporary authors responding to Miller's requests for autographs and questions about their works. Correspondents include Price Collier, Francis Saltus Saltus, Frederick Saunders and Helen (Paget) Toynbee.


Arrangement of the Collection

The correspondence is arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Field, Eugene, 1850-1895.
Saunders, Frederick, 1807-1902.
Collier, Price, 1860-1913.
Joline, Adrian H. (Adrian Hoffman), 1850-1912.
Rolfe, W. J. (William James), 1827-1910.
Saltus, Francis Saltus, 1849-1889.
Thompson, Slason, 1849-1935.
Toynbee, Paget, Mrs., 1868 or 9-1910.
Tyler, Moses Coit, 1835-1900.

Subjects

Authors, American.
Book collecting -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Book collectors.
Lecturers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Dewitt Miller Correspondence
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 1966 and 1967.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 338 1881-1907 (30 items)