Collection inventory


Finding Aids

John Stuart Mill Letters

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Jan 1997

Revision history:
16 May 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Mill, John Stuart, 1806-1873.
Title: John Stuart Mill Letters
Dates: 1851-1889
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letters of the English philosopher. Recipients are Charles Kingsley, Horace Grant, John William Parker [?]
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John Stuart Mill (1806-1873) was a British philosopher known for his writings on social and political theory, particularly utilitarianism.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Stuart Mill Letters consist of three letters from the English philosopher. Writing from St. Veran, near Avignon, to author Charles Kingsley, Mill refers to the loss of his wife:

...to be told by a man who is himself one of the good influences of the age, and whose sincerity I cannot doubt, that anything I have written makes him feel able to be a still better influence, is both an encouragement and a reward -- the greatest I can look for, now that a still greater has been taken from me by death.

Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Kingsley, Charles, 1819-1875.
Mill, John Stuart, 1806-1873.

Subjects

Philosophers -- Great Britain.
Philosophy, British.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Stuart Mill Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Sol Feinstone.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Various 1851, 1859, undated - recipients are Horace Grant, Charles Kingsley, John William Parker