Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Jack Milgrom Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: DGI/MM
Date: 2006

Revision history:
Feb 2009 converted to EAD (MRC)
11 Jun 2014 inventory expanded (DF)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Milgrom, Jack.
Title: Jack Milgrom Papers
Dates: 1958-2005
Quantity: 11.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Collection consists largely of published material and reports collected and written by Jack Milgrom on the subjects of plastics in general, and specifically on the use of plastics in packaging and the recycling of plastics, as well as utility scrap and recycling in the auto industry.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Jack Milgrom was an American researcher and consultant in the plastics field. He received his A.B., M.S. and Ph.D. from the University of Chicago. He performed research in detergent, petroleum and elastomers, and worked in the plastics industry for Foster Grant among other companies. In 1968, Milgrom became a consultant with Arthur D. Little, Inc. and moved to SRI International in 1981. He then became the managing director of Walden Research, Inc. in 1983. Milgrom conducted seminars in the United States and Europe on plastics recycling, packaging and the environment.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jack Milgrom Papers consists largely of published material and reports collected and written by Jack Milgrom on the subjects of plastics in general, and specifically on the use of plastics in packaging and the recycling of plastics, as well as utility scrap and recycling in the auto industry.

Arthur D. Little reports contains documents and reports written by Milgrom and others at the company. Reports were written for private companies, industry trade groups, and government agencies, such as the Department of Health, Education and Welfare and the Food and Drug Administration.

Conference reports consists of proceedings from various national and international conferences on packaging, recycling, conservation, and waste management.

Printed materials consists of documents and reports written by other individuals, companies, agencies, and industry groups.

Research files contains folders assembled by Milgrom related to various projects with which he was involved. Of particular note in this content area are a series of documents related to the Committee on the Challenges of Modern Society, which was part of the North American Treaty Organization tasked in part with researching waste recycling in the late 1970s and early 1980s.

Writings contains published articles, speeches, and preparatory notes by Milgrom (exclusive of writing done under Arthur D. Little).


Arrangement of the Collection

Arranged into series by general topic.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Wiley Encyclopedia of Packaging Technology transferred to rare books for cataloging

Special Collections Research Center has numerous holdings in the areas of plastics and industrial design. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Milgrom, Jack.

Corporate Bodies

International Ryder Conference on Beverage Packaging.
Monsanto Chemical Company.
North Atlantic Treaty Organization. -- Committee on the Challenges of Modern Society.

Subjects

Beverage containers.
Biodegradable plastics.
Conservation of natural resources.
Container industry.
Food -- Packaging.
Packaging.
Plastics in packaging.
Plastics industry and trade.
Recycling (Waste, etc.)
Recycling industry.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Publications.
Reports.
Scrapbooks.
Technical reports.

Occupations

Consultants.
Researchers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jack Milgrom Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from National Plastics Center and Museum, 11/06/2008. Originally, gift of Jack Milgrom.


Table of Contents

Arthur D. Little reports

Conference reports

Printed materials

Research files

Writings


Inventory

Arthur D. Little reports
Box 1 Aluminum two-piece food can: Industry’s reaction 1976 - report to Aluminum Company of America
Box 1 Applications and markets for plastic wire coating scrap 1973 - report to Diversified Metals
Box 1 Applications and markets for plastic wire coating scrap 1975 - report to Plastic Sales, Inc
Box 1 Assessment of the fotential for Hercules’ oriented polypropylene bottle program 1976 - report to Hercules Inc
Box 1 Attack on packaging 1974, 1976 - speech presented at The Fall Executive Conference of the National Flexible Packaging Association, Sept. 22 1976. also includes notes and newspaper clippings
Box 1 Beverage container markets, manufacturing economics and recycling: Analysis of potential competition among can stock suppliers 1980 - report to Anaconda Aluminum Division by Robert A. Calef, Bruce M. Lane, Jack Milgrom, Elliott D. Novak, Edward L. Pepper, Paul R. Poston, and Frank M. Yans
Box 1 Characterization of the plastics packaging industry 1977 - report to Owens-Illinois by Jack Milgrom, Elliot Novak, George Pickering, and Dewayne Whitehead
Box 1 Commentary on plasticizer migration from polyvinyl chloride film 1979 - report to Department of Health, Education and Welfare
Box 1 Development of a flameproof elastic elastomeric fiber 1971 - report to National Aeronautics and Space Administration
Box 1 Energy requirements for plastic meat trays and egg cartons 1978 - report to Diamond International Corporation
Box 2 Energy use patterns for metal recycling 1978 - report to U.S. Department of the Interior, Bureau of Mines
Box 2 Energy utilized to deliver soft drinks in alternative containers in Ontario 1983 - report to Alcan Canada Products
Box 2 Food contact polymers and polymer additives used in packaging 1979 - report to Food and Drug Administration. also includes draft report (2 folders)
Box 2 Glass polymer composite sewer pipe: An initial evaluation of its commercial potential 1979 - report to Applied Science
Box 2 Incentives for plastic recycling and reuse 1970 - report to Department of Health, Education and Welfare
Box 3 Incentives for recycling and reuse of plastics 1972 - report for the Federal Solid Waste Management Program, Environmental Protection Agency. also includes draft report (2 folders)
Box 3 Life cycle energy content of containers 1982 - report to The American Iron and Steel Institute
Box 3 Life cycle energy requirements for selected sheet materials Applicable to manufacture of automobile components 1979 - report to The American Iron and Steel Institute
Box 3 Migration of BHT antioxidant from high density polyethylene 1981 - report to Department of Health, Education and Welfare
Box 3 Opportunities for a tire manufacturing plant in the Kuwait-Saudi Arabia region 1978 - report to Abdul-Aziz and Mohammad Aljomaih
Box 3 Opportunities for regional solid waste management 1975 - report to The Regional Solid Waste Committee
Box 3 Outlook for PVC and competitive materials in packaging food/pharmaceuticals/toiletries/cosmetics, part I 1977 - multi-client study
Box 4 Outlook for PVC and competitive materials in packaging food/pharmaceuticals/toiletries/cosmetics, parts II and III 1977 - multi-client study (2 folders)
Box 4 Packaging and economic growth undated
Box 4 Packaging for appliances and consumer electronic equipment: The environmental issue 1973 - report to Matsushita Electric Industrial Co
Box 4 Packaging in perspective undated (2 copies)
Box 4 Polyvinylidene fluoride and ethylene-tetrafluoroethylene copolymers end-use markets/technology 1972 - report to Montecatini Edison
Box 4 Potential diversification acquisitions 1977 - report to Uniroyal Chemical Company
Box 4 Recovery of glass in North America 1974 - report by Milgrom presented at International Solid Waste Association Symposium at Montreal, Canada
Box 4 State-of-the-art study of the pyrolysis of solid wastes 1973 - report to Combustion Equipment Associates, Inc
Box 4 Status of plastics recycling in the USA undated
Box 4 Tinplate, aluminum and beverage container economics: A survey 1979 - report to Kaiser Aluminum and Chemical Corporation
Box 4 Trends and opportunities in plastics recycling 1991 - report by Decision Resources, Arthur D. Little Affiliate
Box 5 Vinylidene chloride monomer emissions from the monomer, polymer, and polymer processing industries 1976 - report to U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Box 5 Miscellaneous 1972-1974 1981 - includes: Recycling Packaging Wastes in the U.S., newspaper clipping: US Urged to Spur Recycling of Plastics, Packaging Wastes, Resource Recovery, Recycling Scrap Thermoplastics
Conference reports
Box 5 Achieving Market Expansion Through Plastics Recycling 1989 - sponsored by The Institute for International Research
Box 5 American Plastics Council: APC Durables Recycling Workshop II 1998
Box 5 American Plastics Rouncil: APC Durables Recycling Workshop III 1999
Oversize 1 Bev-Pak Americas 1993
Oversize 1 Bev-Pak Americas 1994
Box 5 Bev-Pak Americas speech 1994
Oversize 1 Bev-Pak Americas 1996
Oversize 1 Bev-Pak Americas 1998
Box 5 Bev-Pak Americas personal notes and PowerPoint sheets 1998
Box 5 Conservation and Recycling: Second World Recycling Congress 1979
Box 6 Creating Environmentally Responsible Packaging (3rd annual conference) 1991
Box 6 Creating Environmentally Responsible Packaging (4th annual conference) 1992
Box 6 Food Product-Package Compatibility proceedings 1986
Oversize 1 How to Design a Plastic Recycling Program: New England Resource Recovery Conference 1990
Box 6 International Plastics and Rubber Planning Conference 1989
Box 6 International Ryder Conference of Beverage Packaging (8th annual) 1984
Box 7 International Ryder Conference of Beverage Packaging (13th annual) 1989
Box 7 International Ryder Conference of Beverage Packaging (14th annual) 1990
Box 7 International Ryder Conference of Beverage Packaging (15th annual) 1991
Box 7 International Ryder Conference of Beverage Packaging (16th annual) 1992
Oversize 1 Plastics Recycling Business 1994
Oversize 2 Plastic Recycling Workshop: Recycling Plastics in the 90s 1989
Oversize 1 Profits in Recycling and Degradable Plastics: A Strategic Analysis Conference 1990
Oversize 2 Recycling Law Reports from Raymond Communications, Inc 1996 - proceedings from take it back!: an international seminar for product and packaging makers
Box 8 Recycling World Congress (2nd) 1979 (3 folders)
Box 8 Regional Technical Conference: Plastics Disposal and Recycling 1988
Oversize 2 Turn Waste Into Profits: An Integrated Approach to Plastics Management 1992 - proceedings from The Environmental Technology Exposition and Conference
Printed materials
Box 8 American Excelsior Company information undated
Box 8 Analysis of trends in municipal solid waste generation 1992 - report by Franklin Associates, Ltd
Box 8 Application of technology-directed methods to reduce solid waste and conserve resources in the packaging of non-fluid foods, vol 1: A summary 1978 - prepared by Franklin Associates, Ltd for National Science Foundation
Box 8 Aspects of plastic packaging waste management 1993 - report prepared by the Recycling Advisory Unit for the Environmental Unit DTI
Box 8 Automobile shredder residue—the problem and potential solutions: An overview of the industry and problem and a review of potential methods for disposal 1990 - prepared by Robert J. Schmitt, Center for Materials Production
Oversize 2 Beverage packaging systems—energy study undated
Box 9 Biodegradable polymer technology: Annual strategic report 1996
Oversize 2 Business plan for the manufacture of composite-polymer durables from mixed, packaging-grade plastics 1994
Box 9 Coca-Cola USA multi-material recycling manual undated
Box 9 Comparative energy and environmental impacts for soft drink delivery systems 1989 - report by Franklin Associates, Ltd for The National Association for Plastic Container Recovery
Box 9 Congress R’95: Integrated resources management 1995
Oversize 2 Curbside planning guide 1989 - guide by the Plastic Recycling Corporation of California to provide the basic PET (polyethylene terephthalate) recycling for city and waste management officials
Box 9 Dispensing containers corporation confidential business plan 1993
Box 9 Economic and environmental assessment of Alberta’s unique beverage container redemption system 1983 - report prepared by Michael J. Hare, economic and environmental consultant, for Waste Management Branch of Alberta Environment
Box 9 Energy analysis of 10 oz soft drink packaging alternatives 1976 - prepared by S. E. Sax, of the Ontario Research Foundation
Box 10 Energy utilized to deliver soft drinks in alternative containers in Ontario 1983 - report prepared by SRI International for Alcan Canada Products Ltd
Box 10 Energy utilized to deliver soft drinks in alternative containers in Ontario: Executive summary 1983 - report prepared by SRI International for Alcan Canada Products Ltd
Box 10 Environmental, economic, and energy impacts of material recovery facilities: A MITE program evaluation 1995 - report prepared by Roy F. Weston, Inc, and The Solid Waste Association of North America, funded by the Environmental Protection Agency
Box 10 Environmental impact of plastics disposal in municipal solid wastes 1986 - technical report # 12 from Plastics Recycling Institute: A university-industry cooperative program (affiliated with State University of New Jersey Rutgers). project manager: Sidney Rankin
Box 10 Facing America’s trash: What’s next for municipal solid waste? 1989 - report by U.S. Congress, Office of Technology Assessment in anticipation of the reauthorization of the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act. includes summary report (2 folders)
Box 10 Facts and figures of the U.S. plastics industry 1988 - report by The Society of Plastics Industry, Inc
Box 10 Family-size soft drink containers—a comparative energy and environmental analysis: Executive summary and vol. 1 1978 - prepared by Franklin Associates, Ltd for Goodyear Tire and Rubber Company Chemical Division (2 folders)
Box 11 Family-size soft drink containers—a comparative energy and environmental impact analysis: Volume 2 – appendix 1978 - rrepared by Franklin Associates, Ltd. for Goodyear Tire and Rubber Company Chemical Division
Box 11 Garbage, trash, refuse, waste, discards, rubbish, and junk (the book 3) 1994 - report by Nichols Dezenhall Communications Management Group
Box 11 Green products by design: Choices for a cleaner environment 1992 - report by U.S. Congress, Office of Technology Assessment
Box 11 Growth markets for plastic bottles 1986 - report prepared by Technology Forecast for multi-client sponsorship
Box 11 How government building codes and construction standards discourage recycling 1996 - part 3 of a series on recycling and deregulation: opportunities for market development, by Alexander Volokh of the Reason Foundation. also includes a press release
Box 11 How to collect plastics for recycling 1995 - report by American Plastics Council; also includes press release
Box 11 Making of steel undated - report by American Iron and Steel Institute
Box 11 Market study for Carborundum’s EKONOL thermoplastic polyester 1991 - report by Encotech for Carborundum Company
Oversize 2 Microwave decade (the 1990s) 1989 - report by Packaging Strategies
Box 12 National post-consumer plastics recycling rate study (1993) 1994 - report by R.W. Beck
Box 12 National post-consumer plastics recycling rate study (1995) 1996 - report by R.W. Beck (2 copies)
Box 12 Pennsylvania municipal recycling sosts: Eight case studies 1992 - prepared by The Pennsylvania Soft Drink Association and Moore Recycling Associates for The Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Resources
Box 12 Plastics: The energy saver 1981 - q summary report of an energy impact analysis of the manufacture and use of plastics products and equivalent products made from non-plastics alternative materials. report by Franklin Associates, Ltd. for The Society of Plastics Industry, Inc
Box 12 Plastics and the environment: Progress and commitment 1990 - report by The Society of the Plastics Industry, Inc; author and editor: Bonnie Merrill Limbach
Box 12 Plastics and the environment: Progress and commitment (2nd edition) 1991 - report by The Society of the Plastics Industry, Inc; author and editor: Bonnie Merrill Limbach
Box 12 Plastics industry in the year 2000 1973 - report prepared for The Society of the Plastics Industry, Inc. by R.L Glauz, Jr., A. G. Kridgl, R.H. Schwaar, and S.L. Soder. Stanford Research Institute
Box 12 Plastics recycling foundation: Annual report 1998
Box 12 Plastics recycling in the industrial sector: An assessment of the opportunities and constraints 1989 - report by Oak Ridge National Laboratory for the U.S. Department of Energy
Box 12 Plastics recycling media packet 1995 - by the Freedonia Group, Inc
Box 12 Plastic waste: Resource recovery and recycling in Japan undated - report by Plastic Waste Management Institute
Box 12 Polymer recycling, vol. 1, no. 4 1994 - journal edited by Michael E. Henstock. Includes a letter to Milgrom inviting him to submit a manuscript to the journal
Box 12 Post-consumer mixed plastics recycling: Characterization, collection, costs and markets 1991 - report by Bruce A. Hegberg, William H. Hallenbeck, and Gary R. Brenniman. University of Illinois Center for Solid Waste Management and Research. Prepared for Illinois Dept. of Energy and Natural Resources (2 copies)
Box 13 Recyling and reducing packaging waste: How the United States compares to other countries 1991 - report by James E. McCarthy, Congressional Resource Service report for Congress
Box 13 Recycling venture forum study: Final report 1995 - report by David Kirkpatrick, Kirk Works
Box 13 Report on measures for establishing the recycled plastics market (outline) 1975 - report by Ministry of International Trade and Industry Committee on Plastics Waste Recycling
Box 13 Review of the manufacturing process and characteristics of recycled plastic lumber 1995 - report by Dr. Prabhat Krishnaswamy and Dr. Duryodhan Mangaraj for Environment and Plastics Institute of Canada
Box 13 Role of packaging in solid waste management 1966-1976 1969 - report written by Arsen Darnay and William E. Franklin, Midwest Research Institute, for the Bureau of Solid Waste Management
Box 13 Santa Barbara county pilot waste collection project: Final report 1994 - a joint project of The Santa Barbara County Solid Waste Management Division, The National Audobon Society, and The Grocery Industry
Box 13 Second materials: Engineering properties, environmental consequences, and social and economic impacts 1993 - prepared by Waste Management Institute, State University of New York at Stony Brook for The New York State Energy Research and Development Authority
Box 13 Soft drink profitability study by package type: Final report 1981 - report by Booz-Allen and Hamilton Management Consultants for Can Manufacturers Institute
Box 13 Source reduction of municipal solid waste in New York State: An INFORM study 1995 - report by Bette K. Fishbein
Box 13 Specifications for materials recovered From municipal refuse 1975 - report by H. Alter and W. R. Reeves, The National Center for Resource Recovery, Inc. for U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Box 14 Statistical comparisons of USA rigid container market: Total vs. metal vs. glass vs. plastics 1972-1982 preliminary 1983 - prepared by Valerie B. Gigliotti (2 copies)
Box 14 Table of energy requirements of some industrial processes 1979 - part 2 of the Handbook of industrial energy analysis
Box 14 Technologies for recycling post-consumer mixed plastics: Plastic lumber production, emerging separation technologies, waste plastic handlers and equipment manufacturers 1991 - report by Bruce A. Hegberg, Gary R. Brenniman, and William H. Hallenbeck
Box 14 Ten year review of plastics recycling 1991 - report by S.G. Howell for the Environmental Protection Agency
Box 14 Use and disposal of plastics in agriculture 1994 - prepared by Amidon Recycling for the American Plastics Council, a joint initiative with The Society of the Plastics Industry, Inc
Box 14 Value added to recyclable materials in the northeast 1994 - prepared by Roy F. Weston for The Northeast Recycling Council
Research files
Box 14 Auto plastics recycling 1990-2003 - newspaper clippings, Pheonix: Voice of the scrap recycling Industries, Automotive Report Series (3 issues)
Box 14 Auto plastics recycling 1994-1996 - newspaper clippings, Dylark Plastics Recycling Technology brochure, press releases, Automative Report Series (3 issues)
Box 14 Auto plastics recycling 1997-2005 - newspaper clippings, brochures: Hematite, Collins and Aikman, Automotive Aluminum Recycling (2), Ford Motor Company environmental annual report (May 1997)
Box 15 Coca-Cola 1982-1984 - correspondences, presentations, handwritten notes, overhead projector sheets
Box 15 Degradable plastic 1985-1989 - assorted newspaper clippings, communications and two brochures: "Ampacet’s answer to plastics degradability" and "Plastics for today’s technical problems and environmental concerns"
Box 15 Degradable plastic 1989-1994 - assorted newspaper clippings, notes, and brochures
Box 15 Degradable plastic 1991-2003 - assorted newspaper clippings, notes, and press releases
Box 15 Degradable plastic: Cargill/Dow 2001-2003 - newspaper clippings
Box 15 Degradable plastic: history 1970-2003 - Includes "A new chapter in degradable polymers" by Society of Plastics Industry (May 1997), e-mails, Environment and Plastics Industry Council newsletter, newspaper clippings, and magazine articles
Box 15 NATO/CCMS: agenda 1979 - provisional agenda for meeting in Lisbon 1979. topic of meeting: implementing CCMS (Committee on the Challenges of Modern Society) pilot study on waste plastic recovery
Box 15 NATO/CCMS: Appendices of first draft report of NATO/CCMS experts pilot study on waste plastic recovery 1980 - Prepared by George L. Ball
Box 15 NATO/CCMS: appendices of meeting report 1979
Box 16 NATO/CCMS: appendices of second draft report of NATO/CCMS experts pilot study on waste plastic recycling 1980 - prepared by George L. Ball
Box 16 NATO/CCMS: meeting reports 1979-1980 - two reports: one from Lisbon in 1979 and one from The Hague in 1980 (2 copies)
Box 16 NATO/CCMS: Waste plastic recycling information exchange 1981 - vols. 1 and 2. prepared by Monsanto Research Corporation (2 copies of vol. 1). also includes a letter from study leader Carl J. Schafer to the Experts Group on EPA letterhead (2 folders)
Box 16 NATO/CCMS: Waste plastic recycling information exchange preliminary draft 1980-1981 - prepared by Monsanto Research Corporation. includes a letter from George L. Ball (pilot study chairman) to NATO/CCMS experts on plastic waste recycling, on Monsanto letterhead
Box 16 NATO/CCMS: miscellaneous 1977, 1979 - communications, draft studies, articles
Box 16 Packaging 1984-1994 - newspaper and magazine clippings, census reports
Box 16 Packaging: market projections 1981-1987 - newspaper and magazine clippings, parts of a letter
Box 16 Packaging: The silent servant undated - photocopy of a paper: “Packaging... the silent servant… silent too long”
Box 16 Recycling: Deposit State Experiences 1977-1990 - brochures, pamphlets, newsletters, and articles. Massachusetts and Michigan feature prominently
Box 17 Recycling: deposit state experiences 1981-2003 - brochures, pamphlets, newsletters, and articles
Box 17 Terex: MSW system executive summary undated - report by Terex Corporation about municipal solid waste as containing recoverable resources
Box 17 Terex: WRI 1994-1995 - communications, invoices, and reports related to dealings with Walden Research, Inc
Box 17 Terex: miscellaneous 1994-1998
Includes: Contract with MGA Southern Africa, press releases, diagrams, notes, "Ammonia fiber explosion (AFEX) pretreatment of municipal solid waste" report, "Comprehensive waste recovery system" packet.
Box 17 Utility: Alcan Cable 1989-1991 - catalog of investor-owned electric utility companies operating in the United States (30th edition) and an assortment of communications, notes, memos, and clippings
Box 17 Utility: Alcan Cable 1991 - notes, meeting agenda, meeting minutes, e-mail, and part of a report
Box 17 Utility: Alcatel Canada Wire and Cable 1992 - brochures, communications and notes
Box 17 Utility: Baltimore Gas and Electric 1990-1991 - brochures, communications and notes
Box 17 Utility: Cleveland Electric 1990 - notes, letters, an annual report
Box 17 Utility: Detroit Edison 1990-1991 - letters, notes, and an annual report
Box 18 Utility: Florida Power and Light 1982, 1990-1991 - letters and notes
Box 18 Utility: General Public Utilities 1991 - letters, requests for proposals, brochure, and notes
Box 18 Utility: Leaversuch papers 1991, 1994, 1996 - letters, newsletter, data sheets, and clippings
Box 18 Utility: Ohio Edison 1989-1991 - notes, letter, and an annual report
Box 18 Utility: Southwire 1991-1992 - letters, notes, reports
Box 18 Utility: Sumitomo 1999 - includes a single letter from Milgrom to Sumitomo inquiring about recycling process
Box 18 Utility: Wire Choppers 1997-2003 - letters, notes, directions, and clippings
Box 18 Utility: miscellaneous 1990-2003 - letters, notes, clippings, and brochures
Writings
Box 18 Changing food and beverage packaging markets: The drive for convenience and environmental responsibility 1991 - 2 copies of the report and the executive summary
Box 18 Competitive trends in packaging: Dynamic technology changes within a mature industry 1983-1984 - 3 copies of the report and 5 copies of the executive summary
Box 18 Degradable plastics report 1989 - aso includes a clipping of "Biofoam: Snacks to loose fill" and two handwritten notes
Box 18 Homogenous reactions catalyzed by platinum 1959-1960 - Also includes a draft and related memorandum
Box 18 Identifying the nuisance plastics 1973 - an article printed in New Scientist
Box 18 Intermaterial competition in beverage packaging 1990 - 2 copies
Box 19 Methylnaphthalene complexes 1958, 1966
2 copies of Methyl naphthalene complexes, Metal-Olefin Complexes (internal memorandum), Ethers of olefin alcohols (clipping), and part of a journal article from Journal of Polymer Science, Part A-2, Vol. 4
Box 19 Overview of PET bottle recycling 1984 - speech presented at the Eighth International Conference on Oriented Plastics Containers
Box 19 Overview of plastics recycling 1981-1982 - 2 versions: a photocopied book chapter and a speech (2 copies)
Box 19 Platinum (II) 1959 - 2 copies, drafts, and preparatory notes
Box 19 Preliminary survey of novel fabrication technology for plastics and elastomers 1982 - prepared for C. ITOC & Co. in Tokyo
Box 19 Program to promote PET beverage bottle recycling in non-deposit states 1984 - report to Coca-Cola USA by Milgrom, on behalf of Walden Research Institute
Box 19 Resource recovery and energy review Articles 1975 - 2 articles from Resource Recovery and Energy Review: "Recovery of glass from municipal wastes" (in Mar/Apr 1975) (2 copies and 1 photocopy), "Does too much plastic go to waste?" (in Jul/Aug 1975) (1 copy and 1 photocopy)
Box 19 Single-service beer and soft drink container market: Capacity, production, and outlook 1989 - co-written with Zachary Tahmin
Box 19 Miscellaneous 1993-1995
Includes: Reclaiming Single Plastic Resins: Tracking Technology Developments (article in Spectrum) (2 copies), Trends and Opportunities in Plastics Recycling in the United States (article in Decision Resources) (2 copies), An Overview of the Markets for Recycled Plastics (article in Polymer Recycling, Vol. 1, No. 4) (15 copies), Recycling Plastics: Current Status (from Conservation andi Recycling Vol 3), newspaper clippings, Packaging and the Environment (article in Cereal Foods World, Vol. 31, No. 11).