Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Ed Michaels Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: DGI/MM
Date: 2006

Biographical History

Ed Michaels (1922-2002) was an American inventor and manufacturer in the plastics industry.

Michaels worked with reinforced thermoset plastics and developed zero-shrink polyester resin formulations used in molds for composites, making it possible to mold large parts with light-weight polyester molds. He obtained several patents related to the Resin Transfer Mold Process (RTM). Over the course of his career he formed two companies: Composites Consulting in Sheboygan Falls, WI and Fiberglass, Tooling and Specialties. He used his skills to renovate the White House Truman Balcony using polyester. He died March 26, 2002.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ed Michaels Papers contains papers, reports and newspaper articles on resin transfer molding, including the renovation of the Truman balcony at the White House; images (photographs and slides) from Michaels' career and the products he created; and films.

Arrangement of the Collection

Collection found in no order except the Polaroids which were arranged in two binders, titled Fiberglass Tooling RTM and Repair Rebuilding, and the slides. Slides are labeled and in order as left by Michaels. Arranged in series by format. Polaroids are filed in the order in which they were in the binders. [Processed 2006 by Margaret O. Moore, Donohue Group, Inc., Wethersfield, CT.]


Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous holdings in the areas of plastics and industrial design. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Subject Headings


Michaels, Ed.


Automobiles -- Parts.
Glass fibers.
Gums and resins, Synthetic.
Molding materials.
Plastics -- Molds.
Plastics industry and trade.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Motion pictures (visual works)
Slides (photographs)



Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ed Michaels Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from National Plastics Center and Museum, 11/06/2008. Originally, gift of Mrs. Esther Michaels via Thomas E. Doyle.

Table of Contents

Papers, reports, and articles

Images 1962-1989