Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Methodist Manuscript Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 1 Jan 2001

Revision history:
24 Nov 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Title: Methodist Manuscript Collection
Dates: 1799-1947
Quantity: 30.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Records, reports, resolutions, statistics, minute books, cashbooks, and attendance records of Methodist Conferences in New York State. Records most complete for the Oneida Conference (1830-1915) and the Central New York Conference (1890-1915). Also, some material on the Black River Conference, the East Genesee Conference, the Genesee Conference, and the Wyoming Conference. The Oneida Conference records include material on immorality trials, 1830-1870.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Pending processing.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Methodist Manuscript Collection consists of Records, reports, resolutions, statistics, minute books, cashbooks, and attendance records of various Methodist conferences in New York State. Records are most complete for the Oneida Conference (1830-1915) and the Central New York Conference (1890-1915). Other conferences represented are the Black River Conference, the East Genesee Conference, the Genesee Conference, and the Wyoming Conference. The Oneida Conference records include material on immorality trials, 1830-1870.


Arrangement of the Collection

By conference.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC andall relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from anymaterials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has extensive holdings relating to the Methodist church and clergy in New York State. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing of related manuscript collection and to the Classic Catalog for cataloged print items.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Methodist Church (U.S.). -- Black River Conference.
Methodist Church (U.S.). -- Central New York Conference.
Methodist Church (U.S.). -- East Genesee Conference.
Methodist Church (U.S.). -- Genesee Conference.
Methodist Church (U.S.). -- Oneida Conference.
Methodist Church (U.S.). -- Wyoming Conference.

Subjects

Church records and registers -- New York (State)
Methodist Church -- New York (State)
Methodists -- New York (State)
Methodists -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Cashbooks.
Minute books.
Reports.
Resolutions.
Statistics.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Methodist Manuscript Collection
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents


Inventory

The item-level inventory for this collection has not yet been converted to electronic format. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.