Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Methodist Episcopal Church, Genesee and East Genesee Conference, Minutes

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 3 Mar 2015

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Methodist Episcopal Church. -- Genesee Conference.
Title: Methodist Episcopal Church, Genesee and East Genesee Conference, Minutes
Dates: 1872-1951
Quantity: 1 volume (SC)
Abstract: Handwritten minutes in bound volume.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Genesee Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church was first organized in 1810. By 1816 it encompassed thirty-seven circuits, fifty-eight preachers, and 15,202 members. The Conference grew rapidly, dividing several times into daughter Conferences; the East Genesee Conference was the first to split off in 1848, and in that year reported 16,432 members. It operated independently for nearly thirty years, eventually merging with the Western New York Conference in 1876. [Information drawn from F. G. Hibbard's History of the Late East Genesee Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church (Phillips and Hunt: New York, 1887).]


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Methodist Episcopal Church, Genesee and East Genesee Conference, Minutes consists of a single volume with a few loose sheets laid in, containing handwritten minutes of the annual meeting of these two Conferences in Central New York.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous manuscript collections and printed items related to the Methodist Church in New York State. Please search our collections to locate manuscript material, and refer to the Classic Catalog to locate printed material.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Methodist Church -- New York (State) -- History.
Methodist Episcopal Church. -- East Genesee Conference.
Methodist Episcopal Church. -- Genesee Conference.

Subjects

Methodists -- New York (State)

Places

New York (State) -- Religious life and customs.

Genres and Forms

Minute books.
Minutes (administrative records)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Methodist Episcopal Church, Genesee and East Genesee Conference, Minutes,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2014.


Table of Contents

Minutes


Inventory

Minutes
SC 734 Minute book 1872-1951