Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Gyles Merrill Sermons

An inventory of his sermons at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LDC
Date: 10 Dec 2008

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Merrill, Gyles, 1739-1801.
Title: Gyles Merrill Sermons
Dates: 1772-1783
Quantity: 6 items (SC)
Abstract: Papers of the American clergyman. Sermons of a minister in Plaistow, New Hampshire.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Reverend Gyles Merrill (1739-1801) was an American clergyman during the second-half of the 18th century.

Merrill was ordained a pastor of a congregational church in Plaistow, New Hampshire on March 6, 1765. The church had been organized on November 4, 1730 and was modeled after a church in Haverhill, Massachusetts. Merrill served in this post for thirty seven years until his death on April 27, 1801.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Gyles Merrill Sermons consist of six sermons by the New Hampshire clergyman. A majority of the sermons were written during the revolutionary era.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection contains one series, Sermons, which is arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Merrill, Gyles, 1739-1801.

Subjects

Clergy -- United States.
Sermons, American.

Genres and Forms

Sermons.

Occupations

Clergy.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Gyles Merrill Sermons
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Sermons


Inventory

Sermons
SC 271 Jun-Jul 1772 (2 sermons, 32 pages)
SC 271 18 Apr 1776 (16 pages)
SC 271 28 Apr 1776 (13 pages)
SC 271 18 Dec 1777 Continental Thanksgiving (24 pages)
SC 271 May 1783 (20 pages)