Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Robert M. McWade Papers

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 9 Sep 2010

Revision history:
3 Feb 2011 processed collection (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: McWade, Robert M.
Title: Robert M. McWade Papers
Dates: 1885-1923
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: American diplomat and civil servant. Collection includes correspondence and memorabilia, including a bound set of petitions supporting McWade's candidacy for Consul General.
Language: Majority is in English, one item in French
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Robert M. McWade (1850- ) was an Irish-American diplomat and civil servant. He was appointed U.S. Consul General to China in 1900 but was removed from his post in 1904 amid allegations of fraud and misconduct. He later worked for the Federal Department of Labor as Chief Conciliation Commissioner, tasked with negotiating labor disputes.

He is also the author of The Uncrowned King: The Life And Public Services Of Hon. Charles Stewart Parnell (1891)


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Robert M. McWade Papers includes correspondence and memorabilia.

Correspondence consists almost entirely of letters from McWade to his daughter Arline, sent from various locations while he was traveling as Chief Conciliation Commissioner for the Federal Department of Labor. There is also a statement from a Mr. Lee Chee, regarding events in China, dated 1903, and a few government-related incoming letters from 1885-1886.

Memorabilia contains two dated diaries from 1915 and 1916 and two undated ones, probably from 1917-1918, which document his work as Chief Conciliation Officer. There is an identity card in French, with a photograph (whether the man in the photograph is in fact McWade cannot be determined). Finally, there is a bound volume of "Petitions and Endorsements" compiled by McWade and submitted to the President as part of his effort to be appointed Consul General to Melbourne, Glasgow, Belfast, Manchester or Bradford. The letters, some typed and some handwritten, come from a wide range of people in politics, government, business and civil service attesting to his character and suitability for the post. There is no indication whether he was successful.


Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by correspondent and within that chronologically. Diares are arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

McWade, Robert M.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Department of Commerce and Labor.
United States. -- Department of Labor. -- Conciliation Division

Subjects

Consuls -- United States.
Diplomatic and consular service, American -- China -- 20th century.
Labor disputes -- United States -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Diaries.

Occupations

Consuls.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Robert M. McWade Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Kohen Collection, 1963.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Memorabilia


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 Arline 1915-1923, undated - daughter
Box 1 Lee Chee, statement 1903
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1885-1886 - government-related
Memorabilia
Box 1 Diaries 1915-1918 [?] (4 volumes in 2 folders)
Box 1 Identity card, French
Box 1 "Petition and Endorsements of Robert M. McWade...for Consul General..." 1897