Collection inventory


Finding Aids

W. F. McPheron Biography of John Wainwright

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 15 Sep 2015

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: McPheron, W. F.
Title: W. F. McPheron Biography of John Wainwright
Dates: 1961
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Handwritten biography of John Wainwright of Syracuse, New York. Apparently part of a larger work since it is headed "Chapter 17."
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John Wainwright (1839-1915) was an officer in the Union Army during the American Civil War. Entering as a private in Company G, 2nd Pennsylvania Infantry, he eventually rose to the rank of colonel and commanded the 97th Pennsylvania Infantry. He was cited for gallantry at the Battle of Chaffin's Farm on October 7, 1864 and received the Medal of Honor for gallantry during the Second Battle of Fort Fisher on January 15, 1865.

Nothing is known about the author of this manuscript, other than what can be gleaned from the collection itself. The return address on the mailing envelope suggests that he worked in the Office of the Chief of Information (OCINFO) at the Pentagon.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The W. F. McPheron Biography of John Wainwright consists of a handwritten manuscript describing Wainwright's military career. The introduction to the document, written in the same hand, is signed "Lt. Col. W. F. McPheron" and dated 1 July 1961. The accompanying envelope indicates that McPheron mailed the document to Charles C. Kohen, a book dealer in Washington, DC, in 1962; handwritten annnotations on the envelope state that Kohen donated the manuscript to the Libraries in 1966. The manuscript was evidently intended to be part of a larger documen, as it is headed "Chapter 17."


Arrangement of the Collection

Original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Wainwright's son, John D. Wainwright, became a Rear Admiral in the United States Navy; see also the John D. Wainwright Collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

McPheron, W. F.
Wainwright, John, 1839-1915.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Army -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865.
United States. -- Army -- Officers.

Subjects

Soldiers -- United States.

Places

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts (document genre)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

W. F. McPheron Biography of John Wainwright,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Charles C. Kohen, 1966.


Table of Contents

Manuscripts


Inventory

Manuscripts
SC 760 "John Wainwright of Syracuse / Chapter 17" 1961