Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Ernest E. McMahon Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University


The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 5 Oct 2009

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: McMahon, Ernest E.
Title: Ernest E. McMahon Papers
Dates: pre-1970
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence, printed material, manuscripts, subject files of the American author, educator and former dean at Rutgers University. McMahon's focus area was adult and continuing education.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Ernest E. McMahon (1911-1990) was an American author and educator in the field of adult education. Most of his career was spent at Rutgers University, beginning in the public relations department and eventually becoming Dean of University College and of the University Extension Division, and director of the Institute of Management and Labor Relations.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ernest E. McMahon Papers consist of correspondence, printed material, manuscripts, subject files, and other material. The collection is unprocessed.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of more than fifty individuals and organizations related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

McMahon, Ernest E.

Corporate Bodies

Institute of Management and Labor Relations.
Rutgers University.

Subjects

Adult education -- United States.
Continuing education -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ernest E. McMahon Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Portions gift of Ernest E. McMahon, 1969-1970.

Portions transferred from ERIC, B. Vaughan, 1969-1970.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.