Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Carter McLennon Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 5 Oct 2009

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: McLennan, Carter R.
Title: Carter R. McLennan Papers
Dates: 1940-1946
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Diaries of the United States Army colonel.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Colonel Carter R. McLennan (1894-1961) was a United States army officer who fought in World War II. Part of his service was spent on Negros Island in the Philippines. In 1945 he received the Distinguished Service Cross for action against enemy forces on Dec 18, 1941, in recognition of "outstanding leadership, personal bravery and zealous devotion to duty."


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Carter R. McLennan Papers consist of several diaries from 1940-1946; also in the collection are a few Civil War letters.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection has not been processed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has several collections relating to military history. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

McLennan, Carter R.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Army. -- Infantry Regiment, 57th.

Subjects

World War, 1939-1945 -- Campaigns -- Philippines.
World War, 1939-1945 -- Personal narratives, American.

Places

Negros Island (Philippines)

Genres and Forms

Diaries.

Occupations

Armed Forces -- Officers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Carter R. McLennan Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mrs. Carter R. McLennan, 1964.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.