Collection inventory


Finding Aids

John McKeon Letters

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 28 Jun 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: McKeon, John, 1808-1883.
Title: John McKeon Letters
Dates: 1835-1846
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letters from Congressman John McKeon, most to Secretary of the Navy Mahlon Dickerson
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John McKeon (1808-1883) was an American lawyer and politician from New York. He graduated from Columbia College in 1828 and practiced law in New York City. He served two terms in Congress (1835-1837 and 1841-1843) and several years as United States district attorney, first for the southern district of New York (1854-1858) and then for New York County (1881-1883).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John McKeon Letters consists of eleven letters from McKeon. Six are to Mahlon Dickerson, then Secretary of the Navy, and the others relate to Navy matters. Most are letters of recommendation for young men who wish to be considered for the Marine Corps. Several are annotated with the disposition of the request.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological. Folder includes index cards listing dates and recipients.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Dickerson, Mahlon, 1770-1853.
McKeon, John, 1808-1883.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Navy. -- History.

Subjects

Patronage, Political -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Letters of recommendation.

Occupations

Legislators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John McKeon Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1970.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 518 Letters of recommendation 1835-1846 - for Navy appointments