Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Joseph J. McGrath Music

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 8 Nov 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: McGrath, Joseph J.
Title: Joseph J. McGrath Music
Dates: undated
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Manuscript sheet music from the American composer and professor of music at Syracuse University.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Joseph J. McGrath (1889-1968) was an American composer, particularly of sacred and religious music. A Fellow of the American Guild of Organists, he was Organist and Choir Master of the Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception in Syracuse, New York for forty years. He was a teacher of harmony and composition at Syracuse University and a lecturer at the Catholic University Summer School.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Joseph J. McGrath Music consist of manuscripts for approximately ten compositions of religious music, including several masses.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

McGrath, Joseph J.

Subjects

Composers -- United States.
Church music.
Sacred music.

Genres and Forms

Scores.
Sheet music.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Joseph J. McGrath Music,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Various, 1976-1980.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.