Collection inventory


Finding Aids

James McGarrell Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 22 Sep 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: McGarrell, James, 1930-
Title: James McGarrell Collection
Dates: 1957-1963
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Printed material related to exhibits of works by the American landscape and interiors painter.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

James McGarrell (1930- ) is an American painter known for his landscapes and lush, brilliantly-colored figurative interiors. He studied at Indiana University, the Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture, and the University of California, Los Angeles. He also received a Fulbright grant to study in Germany. He has had more than one hundred solo exhibitions across the United States and Europe, and his work is in the permanent collections of major museums around the world.

Images of his work may be found on his website at www.redwingstanza.com


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The James McGarrell Collection consists of exhibit material -- catalogs, announcements, posters, postcard invitations, and similar items.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

McGarrell, James, 1930-

Subjects

Figurative art -- United States.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century

Genres and Forms

Exhibition catalogs.

Occupations

Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

James McGarrell Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of James McGarrell, 1966.


Table of Contents

Printed material


Inventory

Printed material
SC 582 Exhibition material 1957-1963