Collection inventory


Finding Aids

David Lamar McDonald Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 5 Oct 2009

Revision history:
25 Sep 2017 processed (MRC/PJM)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: McDonald, David L. (David Lamar), 1906-1997.
Title: David L. McDonald Papers
Dates: 1930-1967
Quantity: 2 linear ft.
Abstract: Audiotapes, correspondence, printed material, other items from the American admiral.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

David L. McDonald (1906-1997) was a United States Navy officer for more than forty years. He attended the U.S. Naval Academy (class of 1928) and later studied at the National War College (1950-1951). Commissioned as an ensign in 1928, he was designated a naval aviator in 1931 and eventually rose to the rank of admiral in 1963. He served aboard several navy ships early in his career and commanded three others, including the U.S.S. Coral Sea; other postings included instructor at the Pensacola Naval Air Station, commander of the Sixth Fleet, chief of Naval Operations, and commander of U.S. Naval forces in Europe. He saw active duty during World War II and Vietnam, and receivedthe Navy Distinguished Service Medal (twice), the Legion of Merit, and a Bronze Star. He retired with the rank of Admiral.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The David L. McDonald Papers consists of audiorecordings, subject files, and writings.

Audiorecordings include conferences, interviews, and news briefings.

Subject files contains official Navy biographical material and a few clippings about McDonald.

Writings contains addresses and remarks delivered on various occasions, articles by McDonald, and statements before various Congressional committees.


Arrangement of the Collection

Arranged by type and within that by title or subject, with the exception of the audiotapes, which are arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections relating to military history; please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

McDonald, David L. (David Lamar), 1906-1997.

Corporate Bodies

United States. Navy -- Officers.

Genres and Forms

Audiotapes.
Correspondence.
Speeches.

Occupations

Admirals.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

David L. McDonald Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of H. E. Hetu, 1965.


Table of Contents

Audiorecordings

Subject files

Writings


Inventory

Audiorecordings
Box 2 Chief of Naval Operations Press Conference, Naval War College 01/16/1964 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_001)
Box 2 Chief of Naval Operations Admiral McDonald Press Conference, AHO Building, United States Naval Air Station, Atlanta 02/22/64 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_002)
Box 2 Georgia’s Admiral 02/22/1964 - Audio portion of video-tape program recorded interview of Chief of Naval Operations Admiral David L. McDonald at WSB-TV Atlanta, Georgia conducted by Ray Moore, News Director. 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_003)
Box 2 Admiral McDonald Press Conference at US Naval Postgraduate School, Monterey, California 03/13/1964 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_004)
Box 2 Chief of Naval Operations New Briefing, Ft. Leavenworth, Kansas 03/19/1964 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_005)
Box 2 Chief of Naval Operations Press Conference, Norfolk, Virginia 04/18/1964 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_006)
Box 2 Chief of Naval Operations Conference at Armed Forces Staff College, Norfolk, Virginia 04/22/1964 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_007)
Box 2 Chief of Naval Operations Conference, Tulsa, Oklahoma 05/14/1965 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_008)
Box 2 Press Conference of Admiral David L. McDonald, Chief of Naval Operations. Buenos Aires, Argentina 06/02/1965 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_009)
Box 2 Chief of Naval Operations Press Conference in Rio De Janeiro, Brazil 06/03/1965 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_010)
Box 2 Chief of Naval Operations Press Conference at Naval Air Stations in Alameda and Lemoore, California 08/02/1965 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_011)
Box 2 Chief of Naval Operations Press Conference in Seattle, Washington 08/27/1965 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_012)
Box 2 David Lamar McDonald Press Conference at New Orleans, Louisiana 11/25/1965 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_013)
Box 2 Chief of Naval Operations Press Conference at the Conrad Hilton Hotel, Chicago, Illinois before the Armed Forces Benefit Football Game 09/02/1966 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_014)
Box 3 Chief of Naval Operations Press Conference at Fort Garry Hotel, prior to Chief of Naval Operations speech to the Annual Convention of the Canadian Navy League, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada 09/29/1966 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_015)
Box 3 Remarks by Admiral David L. McDonald, United States Navy, Chief of Naval Operations at the Public Affairs Workshop, Pentagon, Washington, DC 10/18/1966 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_016)
Box 3 Chief of Naval Operations Interview by Joe Campbell of the Mutual Broadcasting System in Admiral’s office 11/22/1966 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_018)
Box 3 Chief of Naval Operations on NBC, Washington, DC (Today Show) 11/29/1966 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_019)
Box 3 Chief of Naval Operations appearance on WGTV - “Men and Ideas” 01/24/1967 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_020)
Box 3 Arrival/Press Conference. Sydney, Australia. Chief of Naval Operations - Coral Sea Celebration 04/30/1967 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_021)
Box 3 Arrival/Press Conference. Canberra, Australia. Chief of Naval Operations - Coral Sea Celebration 05/01/1967 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_022)
Box 3 Arrival/Press Conference. Brisbane, Australia. Chief of Naval Operations - Coral Sea Celebration 05/03/1967 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_023)
Box 3 Arrival/Press Conference. Adelaide, Australia. Chief of Naval Operations - Coral Sea Celebration 05/10/1967 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_024)
Box 3 Arrival/Press Conference. Melbourne, Australia. Chief of Naval Operations - Coral Sea Celebration 05/11/1967 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_025)
Box 3 Television Interview Chief of Naval Operations ; Coral Sea Visit, Melbourne, Australia 05/12/1967 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_026)
Box 3 Press Conference. Hobart, Australia. Chief of Naval Operations, Coral Sea Celebration 05/13/1967 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_027)
Box 4 Press Conference, Christ Church, New Zealand, Chief of Naval Operations - Coral Sea Celebration 05/15/1967 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_030)
Box 4 Arrival/Press Conference. Perth, [Australia]. Chief of Naval Operations, Coral Sea Celebration 05/17/1967 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_028)
Box 4 News Conference, Wellington, New Zealand, Chief of Naval Operations - Coral Sea Celebration 05/17/1967 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_029)
Box 4 Chief of Naval Operations Press Conference, Christ Church, New Zealand, Chief of Naval Operations - Coral Sea Celebration 05/18/1967 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_031)
Box 4 Chief of Naval Operations Farewell Luncheon at Sheraton Park (part 1) 07/31/1967 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_032)
Box 5 Chief of Naval Operations Farewell Luncheon at Sheraton Park (part 2) 07/31/1967 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_033)
Box 5 Chief of Naval Operations Farewell Luncheon at Sheraton Park (part 3) 07/31/1967 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_034)
Box 5 Chief of Naval Operations Farewell Luncheon at Sheraton Park (part 4) 07/31/1967 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_035)
Box 5 Chief of Naval Operations - Change of Command at Naval Academy (part 1, copy) 08/01/1967 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_036)
Box 5 Chief of Naval Operations - Change of Command at Naval Academy (part 2, copy) 08/01/1967 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_037)
Box 3 Chief of Naval Operations Department of Defense Press Conference, Pentagon, Washington, DC 11/16/1996 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_017)
Box 5 Interview of Admiral McDonald by Mr. Watson (part 1) undated 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_038)
Box 5 Interview of Admiral McDonald by Mr. Watson (part 2) undated 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_039)
Box 5 Chief of Naval Operations Address. Australia Version undated 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_040)
Box 5 Chief of Naval Operations Address. New Zealand Version undated 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_041)
Box 5 Department of Defense Public Affairs Audio -Visual Division audio tape recording of Admiral McDonald, Chief of Naval Operation, Guest of Honor undated 1/4 inch audio tape (ID#: mcdonald_dl_042)
Subject files
Box 1 Biographical material - photographs, summary of naval service, official Navy biography
Box 1 Clippings about 1963-1965
Writings
Box 1 Addresses and remarks 1963-1965 - change of command ceremonies, ship launches, U.S. Navy and Naval Academy events, various organizations' conferences and meetings (including officers' wives), senior Swedish military officers, etc. (3 folders)
Box 1 Articles by 1964 - Seabees, future of the Navy, etc.
Box 1 Interviews 1964-1965 - Today show, U.S. News and World Report
Box 1 Statements to Congressional committees 1963-1965 - Joint Committee on Atomic Energy, Senate Armed Services committee, Appropriations Committee, others; topics include military posture, military appropriations, and nuclear propulsion