Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Ethel McCaul Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: --
Date: Jan 1967

Biographical History

Ethel Rosalie Ferrer McCaul (1867- ) was an English nurse who served in the Boer War. In 1904, she undertook, by the sanction of Queen Alexandra, a special mission to Japan and Manchuria in order to obtain information about the workings of the Japanese Red Cross in the Far East. She kept a diary of her trip, which was published in 1904 as Under the Care of the Japanese War Office.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ethel McCaul Papers consist of correspondence, subject files, manuscripts, published material, and photographs.

Correspondence includes incoming and outgoing as well as some correspondence of others. Subject files consists of memorabilia, published material, and photographs. Manuscripts consists of manuscripts for McCaul's book, lectures, notes, and a few manuscript by others on related topics. Published material contains clippings about McCaul.

Arrangement of the Collection

All material is arranged alphabetically with the exception of outgoing correspondence, which is arranged chronologically.


Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

The general circulating collection has a copy of McCaul's book, Under the care of the Japanese war office, call number DS517.9.M15

Subject Headings


McCaul, Ethel Rosalie Ferrier, 1867-

Corporate Bodies

Nihon Sekijujisha.

Associated Titles

Under the care of the Japanese war office.


Military nursing.
Nurses, England.
Russo-Japanese War, 1904-1905 -- Hospitals.
Russo-Japanese War, 1904-1905.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Manuscripts for publication.



Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ethel McCaul Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents


Subject files


Published material