Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Anne McCaffrey Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: SBM
Date: 11 Feb 1970

Biographical History

American author, fantasy and science fiction short story writer and novelist.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Anne McCaffrey Papers, 1947-1967, consist of correspondence, memorabilia and writings. Correspondence includes an undated letter and memorandum. Memorabilia consists of one unidentified photograph.

Writings, 1947-1967, form the bulk of the collection and are divided into four groups: books, honors thesis, plays, and short stories. Within these groups, arrangement is alphabetical by title.

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged alphabetically by type and within that alphabetically by title.


Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has an extensive collection of science fiction and fantasy novels, including many by Anne McCaffrey; please consult the Classic Catalog to locate these items.

See also the Grove Press Records : Books : Book files : McCaffrey, Anne.

Subject Headings


McCaffrey, Anne.


American literature -- 20th century.
Fantasy fiction, American.
Science fiction -- Women authors.
Science fiction, American.
Women authors, American.
Women novelists, American.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts for publication.



Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Anne McCaffrey Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Anne McCaffrey, 1968, 1970

Table of Contents