Collection inventory


Finding Aids

John Mayfield Collection Relating to Eugene O'Neill

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 16 Mar 2011

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Mayfield, John S., 1904-1983.
Title: John Mayfield Collection Relating to Eugene O'Neill
Dates: 1924-1961
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Most of the collection relates to John S. Mayfield's, "Eugene O'Neill and the Senator from Texas." Collection contains correspondence between Mayfield and others such as Carlotta O'Neill and O'Neill biographer Louis Sheaffer. Also in the collection are manuscripts, drafts and proofs of Mayfield's work, and printed material about O'Neill.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Eugene O'Neill (1888-1953) was an American dramatist and winner of the 1936 Nobel Prize for Literature. Among his best-known works are Desire Under the Elms, Mourning Becomes Electra, and the semi-autobiographical Long Day's Journey Into Night.

Earle B. Mayfield (1881-1964) was an American attorney and United States Senator from Texas. John S. Mayfield, American bibliographer and book collector, was his son.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Mayfield Collection Relating to Eugene O'Neill consists of correspondence, printed material and writings.

Correspondence consists primarily of correspondence between Mayfield and others relating to his publication of five letters from O'Neill to Mayfield's father, Texas senator Earle B. Mayfield. Photostats of the letters are included in the collection. There is also correspondence between John Mayfield and O'Neill's widow, Carlotta O'Neill. Other correspondents include O'Neill biographer Louis Sheaffer and Earle B. Mayfield.

Printed material consists of newspaper clippings about O'Neill on the occasion of his death and one about his wife Carlotta's death, and a variety of items such as a cartoon, a program for a production of Long Day's Journey Into Night, and so on.

Writings contains drafts, proofs and final published versions of Mayfield's "Eugene O'Neill and the Senator from Texas," and one copy of Mayfield's "Black Badge of Treason" (about Ezra Pound).


Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically. The other series are in no particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Mayfield, Earle Bradford, 1881-1964.
Mayfield, John S., 1904-1983 -- Black badge of treason.
Mayfield, John S., 1904-1983 -- Eugene O'Neill and the senator from Texas.
Mayfield, John S., 1904-1983 -- Eugene O'Neill and the senator from Texas.
Mayfield, John S., 1904-1983.
O'Neill, Carlotta.
O'Neill, Eugene, 1888-1953 -- History and criticism.
Pound, Ezra, 1885-1972 -- History and criticism.
Sheaffer, Louis.

Subjects

Dramatists, American -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Drafts (documents)
Galley proofs.
Page proofs.
Programs (documents)

Occupations

Authors.
Biographers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Mayfield Collection Relating to Eugene O'Neill,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of John S. Mayfield.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Printed material

Writings


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 O'Neill, Carlotta 1960-1961 - includes letters written on her behalf by her agent, Jane Rubin
Box 1 O'Neill, Eugene 1924, 1925 - photostats of letters to Earle B. Mayfield
Box 1 Others 1951-1952, 1956-1961, undated - includes Earle B. Mayfied and Louis Sheaffer
Printed material
Box 1 Newspaper clippings 1953, undated - most are obituaries or other announcements of O'Neill's death, also one about his wife
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1946, 1954, 1956, 1957 - cartoon, program from an O'Neill play, article in Newsweek, etc.
Writings
Box 1 Black Badge of Treason 1944
Eugene O'Neill and the Senator from Texas 1961
Box 1 Drafts
Box 1 Proofs
Box 1 Final published version