Collection inventory


Finding Aids

William Williams Mather Correspondence

An inventory of his correspondence at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 21 Sep 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Mather, W. W. (William Williams), 1804-1859.
Title: William Williams Mather Correspondence
Dates: 1836
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Correspondence between the American geologist and Stephen Van Rensselaer, about Mather's intention to join a geological survey of the state of New York.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

William Williams Mather (1804-1859) was an American scientist, particularly interested in chemistry and mineralogy. A graduate of West Point, he served as an instructor there for six years before leaving the military to devote himself to the sciences. He wrote numerous papers and taught at the university level in the fields of chemistry, mineralogy, and geology.

Stephen Van Rensselaer III (1764-1839) was an important early citizen of New York, being a landowner and soldier. He served as Lieutenant Governor of New York from 1795-1801.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William Williams Mather Correspondence consists of one letter from Mather to Stephen Van Rensselaer, concerning Mather's intention to join a geological survey of the state of New York.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Mather, W. W. (William Williams), 1804-1859.
Van Rensselaer, Stephen, 1764-1839.

Subjects

Geologists -- New York (State)
Geologists -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Geologists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William Williams Mather Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1969.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 580 Van Rensselaer, Stephen III 1836