Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Massachusetts Militia, 5th Regiment, Monson Artillery Company Orderly Book

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 3 Sep 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Massachusetts. -- Militia. -- Regiment, 5th.
Title: Massachusetts Militia, 5th Regiment, Monson Artillery Company Orderly Book
Dates: 1815-1842
Quantity: 1 volume
Abstract: Orderly book of the Massachusetts Militia's Monson Artillery Company (4th Division, 1st Brigade, 5th Regiment). Volume also contains some school records from District No. 2, Stafford.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Little is known of the Monson Artillery Company beyond the information given in the collection.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Massachusetts Militia, 5th Regiment, Monson Artillery Company Orderly Book consist of a single, bound volume. The first half of the volume (99 pages) is an orderly book, where records were kept of orders sent to the company between 1815 and 1842. The second half of the book (54 pages) contains school records from District No. 2, Stafford; these records are undated. Finally, a few pages at the end of the book comprise an unidentified cash account, 1821-1826 (5 pages).


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Massachusetts. -- Militia. -- Regiment, 5th.

Subjects

Military history -- United States.

Places

Massachusetts -- History, Military.

Genres and Forms

Orderly books.
Public records.
School records.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Massachusetts Militia, 5th Regiment, Monson Artillery Company Orderly Book,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Military records


Inventory

Military records
Volume MV 1 Orderly book 1815-1842 - volume also contains 50+ pages of school records and a few pages of cash accounting