Collection inventory


Special Collections home page

Norman P. Mason Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: 1963



Biographical History

Norman P. Mason (1897-?) was an American lumber dealer and government official from Chelmsford, Massachusetts. In 1954 he was appointed commissioner of the Federal Housing Administration (FHA), and in that position, according to an article in Time magazine (26 Jan 1959), he "cleaned up the FHA, went on to speed up and expand its loan program, started a housing program for old folks, worked hard for urban renewal and better quality houses for home buyers." In 1959 he was named by President Eisenhower to head the Housing and Home Finance Agency.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Norman P. Mason Papers contain correspondence, subject files, printed material, clippings, photographs, press releases from Mason's years working for the government in various capacities related to housing.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection has received minimal processing and remains in original order. The inventory below is a simple box list.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Mason, Norman P.

Corporate Bodies

United States -- Officials and employees.
United States. -- Federal Housing Administration.

Subjects

Federal aid to housing -- United States.
Housing -- United States -- Finance.

Genres and Forms

Awards.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Essays.
Photographs.
Reports.
Speeches.

Occupations

Government employees.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Norman P. Mason Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Norman P. Mason, 1963-1970.


Table of Contents

Subejct files


Inventory