Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Robert B. Martin Manuscript

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Jun 1990

Revision history:
1 Aug 2008 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Martin, Robert Bernard.
Title: Robert B. Martin Manuscript
Dates: 1984?
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft. (SC)
Abstract: Papers of the American author, biographer of Edward FitzGerald. Consists of undated typescript manuscript copy of With Friends Possessed: a Life of Edward FitzGerald, including extensive holograph annotations and revisions.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Robert B. Martin (1918-1999) was an American author. He graduated from the University of Iowa in 1943. After serving in the U.S. Army during World War II, he earned a Master's degree from Harvard and a B.Litt. in English at Oxford University, where he was a Fulbright scholar. He taught English at Princeton University and wrote several well-received books about Victorian-era authors including Alfred Lord Tennyson and Edward FitzGerald, as well as a few mystery novels under the pen name Robert Bernard. He was also a regular contributor to the New York Times Review of Books and other publications.

[Portions of this biographical sketch adapted from Press Citizen obituary, December 3, 1999.]

Edward FitzGerald (1809-1883), born Edward Marlborough Purcell, was a British poet, best known as the author of the first and most famous English translation of The Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Robert B. Martin Manuscript is an undated typewritten copy of With Friends Possessed: A Biography of Edward FitzGerald. The manuscript with extensive handwritten revisions, annotations, and deletions, includes separately paged Notes and Bibliography sections. Together with Special Collections Research Center's Alfred Terhune Collection Relating to Edward Fitzgerald, the Martin manuscript illuminates 20th century scholarship on FitzGerald.


Arrangement of the Collection

One item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has made a concerted effort over the years to ensure that its manuscript and rare books holdings complement each other. As a result, many of our manuscript collections are supported by books, pamphlets, serials and other items which are cataloged in the Rare Books Collection. Please be sure to search the Classic Catalog for these related materials.

In particular, see also the Alfred Terhune Collection Relating to Edward Fitzgerald.


Subject Headings

Persons

FitzGerald, Edward, 1809-1883.
Martin, Robert Bernard.

Subjects

Authors, English -- 19th century -- Biography.
Biographers -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Biographers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Robert B. Martin Manuscript,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
SC 104 With Friends Possessed: A Biography of Edward FitzGerald circa 1984 - typewritten manuscript with additions, deletions, corrections