Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Jerry Martin Diary

An inventory of his diary at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01

Revision history:
12 Mar 2007 converted to EAD (MRC)
15 Feb 2010 updated EAD (LMD)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Martin, Jerry.
Title: Jerry Martin Diary
Dates: 1894-1897
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Photocopy of a diary kept by Martin describing his personal life and social activities in Tioga and Whitesboro, Texas.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Jerry Martin was an American teacher, reverend, and farmer. He was a resident of Tioga and Whitesboro, Texas, north of Dallas.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jerry Martin Diary is a negative photostat copy of a diary kept by Martin from 1894 to 1897. Martin records his personal life and social activities, including his engagement to Ida Brown, his debating society meetings, his preaching, and his travels in Texas. The original diary is held at the Dolph Briscoe Center for American History at the University of Texas at Austin.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Martin, Jerry.

Subjects

Debates and debating -- Societies.
Rural clergy -- United States -- History.
Teachers -- Texas -- Diaries.
Texas -- Religious life and customs.

Places

Tioga (Tex.) -- History.
Whitesboro (Tex.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Diaries.

Occupations

Clergy.
Farmers.
Teachers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jerry Martin Diary,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Diaries


Inventory

Diaries
SC 387 1894-1897