Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Luigi Marmorino Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 22 Apr 2010

Revision history:
30 Nov 2017 OS items rehoused (MS)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Marmorino, Luigi.
Title: Luigi Marmorino Collection
Dates: 1890-1940
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Italian singer and comedic actor. Collection primarily relates to his experiences as a young soldier when captured during the Battle of Adua, 1896.
Language: Majority in Italian, some in English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Luigi Marmorino (1873-1940) was an Italian singer, comedian and actor. As a young soldier during the Italo-Ethiopan war he was captured at the First Battle of Adua, March 1, 1896, and spent many months as the prisoner first of an Ethiopian chief and later of Emperor Menelik II. He eventually acquired a servant and a wife, and started a small theatre for his fellow prisoners, before being released. Marmorino later published a book on his experiences. He came to the United States in 1902 and embarked on a stage career that lasted nearly forty years. In addition to his memoirs he wrote lyrics, scripts, songs and other pieces for the stage.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Luigi Marmorino Collection includes writings and memorabilia (correspondence, clippings, photographs and other items).


Arrangement of the Collection

No particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Marmorino, Luigi.
Menelik II, Negus of Ethiopia, 1844-1913.

Subjects

Actors.
Musicals -- Italy.
Prisoners of war -- Ethiopia.
Prisoners of war -- Italy.
Vaudeville -- Italy.
Vaudeville -- United States.

Places

Adwa, Battle of, Adwa, Ethiopia, 1896 -- Personal narratives.
Adwa, Battle of, Adwa, Ethiopia, 1896 -- Prisoners and prisons.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Photographs.

Occupations

Actors.
Soldiers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Luigi Marmorino Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mrs. Maria dell'Unto, 1971, 1982.


Table of Contents

Writings

Memorabilia


Inventory

Writings
Box 1 Le mie memorie, ricordi della guerra di Abba Carima - typescript (7 folders)
Box 1 La Traviata, parodia comica musicale in un atto, di L.M. - typescript (2 folders)
Memorabilia
Box 1 Awards 1890[?], 1895, 1898-1901, 1933[?]
Box 1 Photocopies of documents, clippings, correspondence (2 folders)
Box 1 Photographs - removed from scrapbook
Box 1 Photographs 1983 - of donor, with scrapbook
Oversize 1 Scrapbook