Collection inventory


Finding Aids

William Manson Ship's Logs

An description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01

Revision history:
3 Nov 2008 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Manson, William.
Title: William Manson Ship's Logs
Dates: 1773, 1784
Quantity: 2 volumes (SC)
Abstract: Logs kept by Captain William Manson, of the Simon Taylor, an English ship in the Caribbean, and the Arundel, sailing from Philadelphia to Spain and Russia.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

William Manson was an 18th century ship's captain.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William Manson Ship's Logs consists of two volumes. Volume 1 is the log from the Arundel, an English ship. Volume 2 is the log for the Simon Taylor, also an English ship. Both were commanded on their respective voyages by Captain William Manson.


Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by ship's name.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has several other 18th and 19th century ship's logs. Please search the Classic Catalog , for "ship's logs" for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Manson, William.

Corporate Bodies

Arundel (Ship)
Simon Taylor (Ship)

Places

Great Britain -- History, Naval -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Ships' logs.

Occupations

Ship captains.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William Manson Ship's Logs,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1964.


Table of Contents

Ship's logs


Inventory

Ship's logs
SC 251, Folder 1 Arundel 1773 - sailing from Philadelphia to Spain and Russia
SC 251, Folder 2 Simon Taylor 1784 - sailing from Port of Shields towards Plantain Garden in Jamaica, British West Indies