Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Thomas Mann Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 28 Jun 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Mann, Thomas, 1875-1955.
Title: Thomas Mann Collection
Dates: 1938-1948
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Six letters from the German author and Nobel laureate, and one inscribed photograph of him.
Language: Two letters in English, the rest in German
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Thomas Mann (1875-1955) was a German novelist, short story writer, social critic, philanthropist and essayist. He won the 1929 Nobel Prize for Literature for his novels Buddenbrooks, which was also his first novel, and The Magic Mountain.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Thomas Mann Collection consists of six letters from Mann and one photograph of him. The letters are to various people and generally concern Mann's writing or his opinion of others' writings. One gives his assessment of a German language text for English teachers of the German language, another denies the rumor that he had written a play entitled Woman of a Hundred Faces. The photograph is inscribed by Mann, in German, to Dr. Benno Lee of Hunter College.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

The Dorothy Thompson Papers includes additional correspondence with Mann.


Subject Headings

Persons

Mann, Thomas, 1875-1955.

Subjects

Authors, German -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Photographs.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Thomas Mann Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1967.


Table of Contents

Miscellaneous


Inventory

Miscellaneous
SC 516 Correspondence, photograph 1938-1948