Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Manlius Methodist Episcopal Church Class-Book

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 29 Jun 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Manlius Methodist Episcopal Church (Manlius, N.Y.)
Title: Manlius Methodist Episcopal Church Class-Book
Dates: 1885-1897
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Volume labeled "G.C. Clapp Tuesday Evening Class meeting," with names and dates.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Little can be discovered regarding the Manlius Methodist Episcopal Church or Mr. G.C. Clapp. According to an 1878 History of Onondaga County by Professor W. W. Clayton, the First Methodist Episcopal Church of Manlius was built in 1822 and relocated in 1844; whether this is the church of origin of this volume cannot be determined.

G.C. Clapp was evidently the leader of these Tuesday evening meetings. The volume First Fifty Years of Cazenovia Seminary (Nelson & Phillips, 1878) lists among its students one Guilford C. Clapp of Pompey, New York. Whether this is the G.C. Clapp of the volume cannot be determined.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Manlius Methodist Episcopal Church Class-Book consists of a single volume, labeled on the front "G.C. Clapp Tuesday Evening Class meeting," containing lists of names and dates. Although the book was evidently intended for recording "subscriptions" (donations) and information about subscribers such as their marital status, there is no information beyond names and dates, and on some pages there are no dates but only names.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections relating to the Methodist Church and clergy in and around Central New York. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Manlius Methodist Episcopal Church (Manlius, N.Y.)

Subjects

Methodist Church -- New York (State) -- History.

Places

Manlius (N.Y.) -- Church history.

Genres and Forms

Church records.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Manlius Methodist Episcopal Church Class-Book,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Rare Books, 1981.


Table of Contents

Church records


Inventory

Church records
SC 520 Class-book 1885-1897