Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Sherry Mangan Manuscripts

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRR
Date: 29 Jun 2006

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Mangan, Sherry, 1904-1961
Title: Sherry Mangan Papers
Dates: 1932-1936
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Mangan was an editor, poet, novelist and short story writer who largely associated with American expatriate writers in Paris during the 1930s . He was a fervent Marxist and was active in the left-wing underground in Paris during the Nazi occupation. The collection contains letters from Mangan to his publishers plus the typescript of a short story.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Sherry Mangan (full name John Joseph Sherry Mangan) was born July 27, 1904, in Lynn, Massachusetts to Irish-Catholic parents. He earned a B.A. in classical literature at Harvard University in 1925 and shortly after graduating moved to Paris. There he associated with other expatriates and was exposed to French surrealism, which influenced him both as a writer and an editor.

Mangan's first jobs in Paris were working as an editor for larus: The Celestial Visitor (1927-1928) and then for Pagany: A Native Quarterly (1930-1933). He wrote novels and short fiction (Cinderella Married, 1932; Salutation to Valediction, 1938) as well as poetry (No Apology for Poetrie and Other Poems, 1934), much of it inspired by French modernism.

He also became a fervent Marxist and Trotskyist. He was a founding member of the Socialist Workers' Party, active in organizing the French section of the International Federation of Independent Revolutionary Art, and wrote a column for the left-wing Partisan Review under the name Sean Niall.

Between 1938 and 1948 he became well-known as a journalist, frequently writing on social, cultural and political happenings in Paris. Major news magazines such as Time, Life and Fortune carried his work (his "Paris Under the Swastika," describing the occupation of the French capital, ran in the 16 September 1940 issue of Life). His short fiction and poetry appeared in a variety of periodicals including Esquire, London Mercury, Harper's, Atlantic Monthly, New Directions, and Black Mountain Review.

In the early 1940s he shifted his home base from Paris to Latin America, continuing to work as a journalist while at the same time actively supporting Trotskyist organizations such as the Fourth International. In 1953 he returned to the United States where he and his Marxist beliefs ran afoul of the House Un-American Affairs Committee. As his career and health gradually declined, he worked as a freelance editor and translator (Mozart's Idomeneo, King of Crete, 1955). He died in obscurity in 1961.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The collection consists of several letters from Mangan to his publisher, Albert Boni of A&C Boni, Inc. and the typescript of a short story (?) entitled "Barclay Street: Six."


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

The Special Collections Research Center has a number of collections relating to twentieth-century radicalism. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Boni, Albert, 1892-
Mangan, Sherry, 1904-

Corporate Bodies

A & C Boni, Inc.

Subjects

Authors and publishers -- Correspondence.
Poets, American
Publishing and publishers -- Correspondence.
Radicalism.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Manuscripts (document genre)

Occupations

Authors.
Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Sherry Mangan Manuscripts,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased by the Peter Graham Fund for Radicalism in Literature and Art, 8/2005.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
Box SC 166 A & C Boni, Inc. 1932-1936
letter of 23 Feb 1933 includes manuscript of "Barclay Street: Six"