Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Norman Mailer Correspondence

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 22 Aug 2014

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Mailer, Norman
Title: Norman Mailer Correspondence
Dates: 1986
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Correspondence from the Pulitzer Prize-winning author.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Norman Mailer (1923-2007) was an American writer, film maker, actor and political candidate. As a journalist he was known for his counter-cultural essays and was a co-founder of The Village Voice. He was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for non-fiction in 1968 for his book The Armies of the Night, about anti-war marches on Washington D.C., and in 1980 his novel The Executioner's Song won the Pulitzer for fiction.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Norman Mailer Correspondence consists of a typed signed letter from Mailer, inviting the recipient to appyly for membership in PEN.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Mailer, Norman.
Sternlicht, Sanford, 1931-

Subjects

Authors, American.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Norman Mailer Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Sandy Sternlicht.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
Sternlicht, Sanford (Sandy) 1968