Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Finnur Magnússon Notebook

An inventory of his item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LDC
Date: 09 Dec 2008

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Finnur Magnússon, 1781-1847.
Title: Finnur Magnússon Notebook
Dates: circa 1823-1825
Quantity: 1 v. (SC)
Abstract: Notebook containing extracts from Kaspar von Barth's Adversaria.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Finnur Magnússon (1781–1847) was an Icelandic archaeologist and scholar. In 1819, he was appointed professor at the University of Copenhagen and in 1842 made the "Keeper of the Archives." An authority on Norse literature and mythology, he is best remembered for his translation of Elder Edda. Magnússon also claimed to have deciphered a Runamo inscription in Sweden, however, this claim was a subject of controversy and was later disproved.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Finnur Magnússon Notebook is a single bound volume containing extracts from Kaspar von Barth's Adversaria (1624). The notebook is dated 1823-1825 and is written in English.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Finnur Magnússon, 1781-1847.

Genres and Forms

Notebooks.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Finnur Magnússon Notebook
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mr. Cramer, Feb 1874.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
SC 266 Notebook circa 1823-1825 (1 volume, 282 pages)