Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Charles A. Madison Manuscripts

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: 1967

Revision history:
27 Jan 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Madison, Charles Allan.
Title: Charles A. Madison Manuscripts
Dates: 1966-1968
Quantity: 2.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American author. Manuscripts of Book publishing in America, The owl among colophons, and Yiddish literature.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Charles Allan Madison (1895-1985) was a publishing executive and author of several books on labor, liberal and progressive leaders, publishing history and Jewish topics. Born in Kiev, he emigrated to the United States in 1906 and graduated from Harvard University in 1922. He first worked with the American Book Company (1922-1924) and then moved to Henry Holt and Company where he remained for the next 38 years.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles A. Madison Manuscripts consists of manuscripts for three of Madison's books: Book publishing in America, The owl among colophons, and Yiddish literature. The latter manuscript is as prepared by the editorial staff of the publisher Frederick Ungar. All of the pages are annotated by the editorial staff, and almost all have minor revisions by Madison with considerable material inserted.


Arrangement of the Collection

Alphabetical by title.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Madison, Charles Allan -- Manuscripts.

Subjects

Authors, American.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles A. Madison Manuscripts
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Charles A. Madison, 1966 and 1968.


Table of Contents

Manuscripts


Inventory

Manuscripts
Book publishing in America
Box 1 Pages 1-490 (6 folders)
Box 2 Pages 491-771 (5 folders)
Box 2 Bibliography
Box 2 Index (6 folders)
The owl among colophons
Box 3 Chapters I-XII (2 folders)
Box 3 Unpublished versions (4 folders)
Yiddish literature: its scope and major writings
Box 4 Preface
Box 4 Chapters I-XIX
Box 4 Yiddish writings in English translation
Box 4 Bibliography of source materials