Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Tucker Madawick Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: 10 Mar 1995

Revision history:
14 Jun 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Madawick, Tucker P.
Title: Tucker Madawick Papers
Dates: 1964-1990
Quantity: 50 linear ft.
Abstract: American industrial designer, primarily of consumer electronics; former president, Industrial Design RCA Consumer Electronics, and past president, Industrial Designers Society of America. Collection contains publications, models, and slides which document Madawick's association with the Industrial Designers Society of America as well as various projects during his tenure at RCA. Also, material relating to John Vassos, whom Madawick recruited to work for RCA.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Tucker Madawick (1917- ) is an American industrial designer. During the early part of his career he worked in the automobile industry; he was part of the design team for the Tucker 48 car and also worked for Studebaker. In 1959 he joined RCA as their Manager of Radio, Phonograph, Tape and Television Design, and assembled a team that generated innovative and futuristic designs for televisions and other home electronics, though he maintained his interest in the automotive field. Madawick became President and Fellow of the Industrial Designers Institute (IDI) in 1964 and later was President and Fellow of its successor, the Industrial Designers Society of America (IDSA).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Tucker Madawick Papers contains a wide range of material reflective of Madawick's long career in industrial design. The collection includes slides, reports, printed material, project material, models and many other formats.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has extensive holdings relating to industrial design, including the papers of several important designers. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Madawick, Tucker P.
Vassos, John, 1898-1985.

Corporate Bodies

Industrial Designers Society of America.
RCA Corporation.

Subjects

Household electronics -- Design and construction.
Industrial design.
Industrial designers -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Models.
Slides (photographs)

Occupations

Industrial designers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Tucker Madawick Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Tucker Madawick, 1992, 1994.


Table of Contents


Inventory

The item-level inventory for this collection has not yet been converted to electronic format. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.