Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Charles Wesley MacCarthy Commonplace Book

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 3 Sep 2015

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: MacCarthy, Charles Wesley.
Title: Charles Wesley MacCarthy Commonplace Book
Dates: circa 1857-1868
Quantity: 1 volume
Abstract: Commonplace book, containing handwritten recipes/receipts, diary entries, extracts of essays, the Bible, and other writings, and so on, with a few clippings interspersed.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Charles Wesley MacCarthy (1830-1912) graduated from Williams College in 1856. He was ordained by the Presbytery of Genesee in May of 1861 and served in the United States Army from 1862-1865. He was a member of the class of 1868 at Auburn Theological Seminary in New York City. [Information taken from General Catalogue of the Auburn Theological Seminary (1883) and Auburn Seminary Record (1909-1910).]


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles Wesley MacCarthy Commonplace Book consists of a single large bound volume, containing a wide variety of handwritten material and a few clippings. Handwritten material includes copied extracts from essays and books (including the Bible and theological works), diary entries, poems, recipes and receipts, and assorted other material. The earliest date found in the book is 1857.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

MacCarthy, Charles Wesley.

Corporate Bodies

Auburn Theological Seminary (New York, N.Y.)

Subjects

Seminarians -- New York (State) -- 19th century.
Students -- New York (State) -- 19th century.

Places

Auburn (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Commonplace books.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles Wesley MacCarthy Commonplace Book,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2015.


Table of Contents

Memorabilia


Inventory

Memorabilia
Oversize 1 Commonplace book 1857-1868