Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Claudia de Lys Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: DCA
Date: Sep 1985

Revision history:
17 Jun 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Lys, Claudia de.
Title: Claudia de Lys Papers
Dates: 1920-1960
Quantity: 23 linear ft.
Abstract: American anthropologist, author. Collection includes correspondence, clippings, drafts and manuscripts for publication, photographs, news releases, printed material. Writings and research material on customs, folklore, palmistry, and superstition.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Claudia de Lys (dates unknown) is an American anthropologist and author of numerous books on customs, folklore, palmistry, and superstition.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Claudia de Lys Papers consist of three accessions which have not yet been integrated. The collection has received minimal processing, and the inventory which follows is a simple box listing.

The original accession contains correspondence, galley proofs, typescripts and clippings. Most of it is newspaper and magazine clippings with typescript copies of same.

The 1990 addition contains correspondence, photographs, writings, and memorabilia.

The 1992 addition contains correspondence, writings, and memorabilia.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection has received minimal processing and by and large remains in original order. Because the three accessions have not been integrated, note that the box numbering restarts with "Box 1" for each. Please specify accession and box number when requesting material.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

More than one hundred artifacts and pieces of art were transferred to the Syracuse University Art Collection in 1985. These include 27 original cartoons by Ton Smits; 30 drawings, 47 prints and three print blocks by Gus Bundy; a bas-relief bust of de Lys by Edgardo Simone; a charcoal portrait of de Lys by Paul Swan; and an oil painting of the Hagia Sophia in Turkey, circa 1930. For more information about these items please contact the SU Art Galleries at http://suart.syr.edu.


Subject Headings

Persons

Lys, Claudia de.

Subjects

Anthropologists -- United States.
Cats -- Mythology.
Folklore.
Folklorists -- United States.
Manners and customs.
Popular delusions.
Superstition.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Drafts (documents)
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.

Occupations

Anthropologists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Claudia de Lys Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1990, 1992.


Table of Contents

Original accession

Correspondence-subject files (1990)

Photographs (1990)

Writings (1990)

Memorabilia (1990)

Correspondence-subject files (1992)

Writings (1992)

Memorabilia (1992)


Inventory

Original accession
Box 1 Correspondence 1920s-1960s - incoming and outgoing; contains some print material
Box 2 Graphic material - copies of print cartoons by Ton Smits; drawings and block prints by Gus Bundy. Originals transferred to SU Art Galleries.
Box 3 Graphic material - photographs
Box 4 Printed material - galley proofs of A Treasury of Parenthood
Box 5 Printed material - galley proofs of A Treasury of American Superstition and To Be or Not To Be a Virgin; also typescript of the latter
Box 6 Printed material - unbound signatures of A Treasury of American Superstition
Box 6 Typescripts - ideas for advertiseres; radio program; dictionary of French sayings
Box 7 Printed material - superstitions; typescript copies; news releases; clippings
Box 8 Printed material - typescript list of sayings
Printed material - clippings of sayings
Box 9 Air and breathing
Box 9 Breasts
Box 9 Breastfeeding
Box 10 Hands, fingers
Box 10 Handwritings
Box 10 Lefthandedness
Box 10 Palmistry
Box 11 Hands, symbols
Box 11 Mouth - diseases
Box 11 Mouth - falsehoods
Box 11 Mouth - Kinsey Dept.
Box 11 Mouth - kissing
Box 12 Mouth - kissing
Box 13 Mouth - kissing
Box 14 Miscellaneous clippings
Box 15 Printed material - superstition clippings
Box 16 Printed material - superstition clippings
Box 17 Printed material - superstition clippings
Box 18 Printed material - superstition clippings
Package  Printed material - scrapbook of clippings
Artifacts - prints, drawings, bas-relief
Transferred to SU Art Galleries.
Phonodiscs - interviews with CDL, performances dedicated to her
Transferred to Belfer Audio Archives.
Correspondence-subject files (1990)
Adamo, Hunter and Alice
Batchelor, C.D. and Julie Forsyth - includes original artwork
Battey, Terence Louise
Bundy, Gus - includes original artwork
Cloud, Virginia
Cole, Madelaine
Darragh, Kathleen
Debruille, Paulette
Evans, Henry S.
Evans, Isabelle and Philip
Garmisa, Ilyana
Grayson, Anka and James
Grolier, Inc.
Hamilton, Marjorie J.
Harcourt, Brace and Company
Kamin, Claude and Martin
Kendrick, Eleanore (agent)
Kilbourn, Lucy
Kline, Harry Byrd
Lopatecki, Yvonne de
Murphy, J.E. - includes original artwork
Oldfield, Barney
Oman, Annie and Sheridan - includes original artwork
Orner, Faustina
Plantiff, Ellen
Poterbaugh, Edward and Celene
Russell, George B. and Edith
Serebrykoff, Lynn Christensen
Short, Marcia
Silvermine Publishers
Speller, Robert (publisher?)
Sugar, Paul
Tomiuk, Yolande / Tania Shamy
Traver, Marion Gray - includes original artwork
Wadler, Leonard
White, Mary Lee
Photographs (1990)
Miscellaneous
Writings (1990)
"The Cat is Out of the Bag" - manuscript draft
Superstitious? Here's Why
A Treasury of American Superstition
A Treasury of Parenthood and Its Folklore
Your Cat: Fact and Superstition
Your Cat: A Treasury of Fact and Superstition
Memorabilia (1990)
Clippings
Essays
Phonodiscs - 2 LPs
Syndicate sheets
Miscellaneous
Correspondence-subject files (1992)
Box 1 General
Personal
Box 1 MacNiel, Stanley S.
Box 1 Mayfield, John - 3 folders
Box 1 Philosophical Library, Inc.
Box 1 Syracuse University
Subject files
Box 1 Boy
Box 1 Bundling
Box 1 Chaperons
Box 1 Circumcision
Box 1 Sex determination - 2 folders
Writings (1992)
Books
Box 1 A Century of Cats
Essays
Box 1 "As I recall…en route on my life's journey" - manuscript draft
Box 2 "As I recall…en route on my life's journey" - manuscript draft
Box 2 "The cat's out of the bag" (working title: The Cat's Nine Lives Plus) - correspondence, research material, photographs, manuscript drafts
Box 2 "Lena's Odd Odyssey" - research material, manuscripts, 4 folders
Box 2 "Savage wife excels as husband's partner," New York World-Telegram, 10 Jan 1935
Box 2 "Working island cats" Pet Digest Winter 1964
Box 2 "Your cat: a treasury of fact and superstition - manuscript draft, 2 folders
Memorabilia (1992)
Printed material
Box 2 Clippings about
Box 2 Clippings, general
Box 2 Miscellaneous
Box 2 Miscellaneous