Collection inventory


Finding Aids

John Arthur Lynch Petition

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 28 Jun 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Lynch, John Arthur.
Title: John Arthur Lynch Petition
Dates: 1887
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Petition from John Arthur Lynch to President Grover Cleveland, regarding his dismissal from a clerkship and requesting reinstatement, partially on the grounds of his military service during the Civil War.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Little is known of John Arthur Lynch beyond the facts given in the petition. He joined "one of the first organized military companies" of Cincinnati, and served under Generals Burnside, Logan and Sherman "until the close of the war." During his service he proposed "some public works of river improvement." In 1870 he was appointed to a first-class clerkship in the Comptroller's Office, but in 1887 he was dismissed from his position for, he believed, being a Republican.

The Official Register of the United States, Volume 1 (July 1887) on page 66 lists one "John A. Lynch," born in Ireland, as a member of the Office of Second Comptroller.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Arthur Lynch Petition consists of a petition from civil servant John Arthur Lynch to President Grover Cleveland, requesting reinstatement to his position as first-class clerk. In support of his request, he recapitulates his military service, and the hard work and dedication he brought to the Auditor's Bureau as clerk. The petition is annotated on the outside with the words, "Wash DC / April 1889 / The President / J. A. Lynch / deserves reinstatement / 2nd comptrs office."


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Lynch, John Arthur.

Subjects

Veterans -- United States.

Places

United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Personal narratives.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Petitions.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Arthur Lynch Petition,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1965.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 512 Petition for reinstatement 1887